Crave

Last night my beloved and I treated ourselves to a date night.  It doesn’t happen often, especially since starting up the farm.  There are so many chores to be done in the evenings and on weekends that we really don’t have a lot of extra time to ourselves.  But yesterday we managed to finish early enough to head to the QT for a snack and then off to the cinema to see Secretariat.  For years Sam and I have been dreaming of the day we could retire from this hectic life we live and move back to Kentucky, start a little farm, put up some horse fence, and live out our days in quiet wonder of all that God has created.  The movie didn’t help that desire any – we’re more determined than ever to realize our dream.

Despite a wonderful evening, I didn’t sleep well.  I don’t know if it was the excitement from the movie (I do love good horse racing), or just realizing how much of a contrast in lifestyle I crave.  Right now, we live a life of comfort and ease.  Sure we’ve got some hard work to do each day with the farm and garden chores, but for the most part we’re very comfortable.  God has very richly provided for us, however I’m desperate to turn my back on all this “stuff” in search of a much more simple way of living.  All that we have is lovely and grand, but it has come at much too high a price.

One thought on “Crave

Leave a Reply

