Sore, sore, and more sore…

Did I mention that I’m sore?  If not, I want to let you know that I’m really sore.  My back is killing me.  My legs are tired.  Even my stomach muscles hurt.  Why, you ask?  Simply put, I’m out of shape, over weight, and doing manual labor is a killer!

Last night was the first evening (of many to come) for us to spend out at the land working.  We had to mow.  The grass and weeds were waist deep in most parts of the pasture, and we’ve only got push mowers.  **Let me just mention here how very important it is for us to get a riding lawn mower ASAP!**  We didn’t mow much.  Just enough to get the sheep pen set up.  Friday morning, Sam and I head down to Savannah to pick up our first two dairy lambs.  Fortunately, they’re just lambs, so they won’t need a ton of space right now, so we’ll have time to continue to mow down the fenced pasture and move them around a bit each day so they can eat new forage.  I’m really excited about their arrival, but not so excited about all the work that will go into it.

One of the things that saddened me as I worked last night was the amount of trash strung out in this pasture.  Not just weeds, but odd bits of wood, broken branches from trees that were never cleared out, plastic bags, old cardboard boxes, broken watering buckets, even some old tires and scrap metal.  It’s like someone has been using this area as a personal dumping ground.  I know that there were horses and goats on this property before, and as I was picking up all the trash and debris it made me wonder what kind of life those animals had, trying to negotiate around all the crap in the field in order to eat.  That’s certainly one thing that I know our animals won’t have to contend with – I’m not a big fan of the ever-growing trash pile.  Especially not when it’s in the middle of a pasture.  I suspect we’ll be havin’ a bonfire before too much longer!

Even though I’m sore as a well digger, I’m excited about this new farming adventure we’ve embarked upon.  Being good stewards of the land is an important Biblical value to me.  Helping to teach people how to live a better life through their food is also paramount.  Enjoying the company of the animals is a bonus.  But finding a way to make a genuine difference in this world is priceless.  I hope you’ll join us!

Leave a Reply

