What a friend!

I woke up this morning with the words from “What A Friend We Have In Jesus” running through my mind.   I haven’t heard this old hymn in years; but as I was laying in bed this morning listening to the birds chirping gleefully outside my window I felt comforted by the thought that we do indeed have a friend in Jesus.  When I think of Him in that way, it makes me feel slightly strange because I’ve never really had a lot of friends – well, not really close friends anyway – not a BFF, that’s for sure.

In truth, I’m saddened by the way I often project my lack of understanding, my past history of poor choices and dysfunctional relationships, my inadequacies, and my insecurities into my relationship with the Lord.  He offers me the promise of a perfect friendship – free from disappointments, hurts, and rejection, and I so often am the one to muddy the waters with drama that is purely born out of my own dysfunctional heart and mind.  I’m so thankful that He is a friend that sticks closer than a brother (Proverbs 18:24) and is always there when I happen to wander into a deeper understanding of this crazy relationship we’ve got.

What a friend we have in Jesus,
all our sins and griefs to bear!
What a privilege to carry
everything to God in prayer!
O what peace we often forfeit,
O what needless pain we bear,
all because we do not carry
everything to God in prayer.


Have we trials and temptations?
Is there trouble anywhere?
We should never be discouraged;
take it to the Lord in prayer.
Can we find a friend so faithful
who will all our sorrows share?
Jesus knows our every weakness;
take it to the Lord in prayer.


Are we weak and heavy laden,
cumbered with a load of care?
Precious Savior, still our refuge;
take it to the Lord in prayer.
Do thy friends despise, forsake thee?
Take it to the Lord in prayer!
In his arms he’ll take and shield thee;
thou wilt find a solace there.

1 Comment

Filed under MISCELLANEOUS

One response to “What a friend!

  1. Thank you for your post! It was beautiful!
    I really enjoyed reading it and found the same connection as you did with Jesus.

    Thank you

Leave a Reply

