Knock-knock

When I was a small child, I thought knock-knock jokes were hilarious.  Even the ones that really weren’t funny.  But how would I have known they weren’t funny?  The adults in my life would laugh at them no matter how bad they might have been, which always confirmed in my own mind that I was down right brilliant, and therefore was spurred onto continued jocularity.  Now that I have grandchildren I can understand the endless torture I put my parents and grandparents through as I too laugh at the silly knock-knock jokes the kids tell us, even though they often don’t even make sense.

Have you ever tried to reason with a 3 or 4 year old over their knock-knock jokes?  No you have not!  There is no rationale behind knock-knock jokes for a small child.  They are just talking to hear their own voice and to incite a response of laughter from us.  The more we play along and laugh at them the more we egg them on to continue the endless game of nonsense.

Now that I think about it, I’m not really all that different…

Today as I was spending some quiet time with God I was reading through several highlighted passages in my Bible.  As I perused the various scribbles I’ve made in the margins pertaining to these highlighted sections it occurred to me that Jesus is playing the knock-knock game with me.  You see, even though I’ve been a Christian for a long time I still don’t make sense most of the time in my thought process and the way I choose to do things, and yet I’m not often receptive to the Lord’s voice of reason either.

Here are some of the Scriptures I was led to this morning:

Regarding Jesus’ passionate pursuit of us: “Look!  I stand at the door and knock.  If you hear my voice and open the door, I will come in, and we will share a meal together as friends.”  Revelation 3:20

Regarding prayer and issues that are close to our heart: “And so I tell you, keep on asking, and you will receive what you ask for. Keep on seeking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks, receives. Everyone who seeks, finds. And to everyone who knocks, the door will be opened.”  Luke 11:9-10

The Lord doesn’t give up on us; it is we who give up on Him.  He is waiting for us to open the door to His will, His way, His blessings, His timing, His perfection, His righteousness, His freedom, His love, His mercy, His grace, and His salvation.  He wants to give us the desires of our heart, but first we must give him our heart.

I’ve been a committed Christian for over a decade now, but I’m still one of these gals whose approach to life is ready-fire-aim.  I come up with a plan; I think through the plan; I legitimize the plan; and then I say to God, “Okay God, this is the plan…get on board and just bless it.”  To which, God is probably sitting in heaven rolling on the floor laughing his Holy head off and saying something like, “Yeah, that’ll be right…”

You see, for me, I must determine that things are going to be done His way and not my way.   He knows what my way is, and usually my way is chock full of potholes, loopholes, and nooses.  My way is 99.9% guaranteed to fail at some level.  In contrast, God’s way is 110% guaranteed to succeed“If God is for us, who can ever stand against us?” (Romans 8:31) I don’t know about you but the odds seem pretty stacked against me, and in all honesty, I’m one of these girls who really prefers to be a part of the winning team and not the losers.

So what I really should be doing is saying, “Okay Lord, here’s what I’d like to do, but I want the very best for my life so why don’t you tell me what the plan is so I can be truly successful.”  Sheesh, even just typing that out seems to rub against the grain of my will.  I guess that’s what spiritual maturity is all about – learning to become less like me and more like Christ.  

Thankfully the Lord is ultra patient with me and he allows me to forge ahead stubbornly in my own path.  He often takes my glaring inabilities and turns them into glistening abilities.  He frequently rescues me from sudden disaster and turns a potentially negative outcome into an amazingly positive success, in which He gets all the glory.  And then there are other times when I’m particularly heard headed (and hearted) when he just sits on the sidelines and waits patiently for me to realize I’m bailing water with a teaspoon.

Fortunately for me, Jesus understands my sinful, human nature, and He remains persistent in his knocking at the door of my heart and mind, waiting for me to wake up and answer His call – wanting me to get on board with His plan for life so I can enjoy all the blessings, benefits, and successes He has planned just for me.

What about you?  Is Jesus still knocking at the door of your heart?  If so, how much longer will you ignore his voice and miss out on all the bountiful blessings he has planned for your life?   Please don’t wait too long…

Leave a comment

Filed under CHRISTIAN LIVING

Leave a Reply

