#400 and still random

This is my 400th post since starting this crazy blog.  I really don’t have much to say today but didn’t want to pass this momentous opportunity up to reach number 400.  How was your weekend?  Mine was fast, and emotional, and fun, and inspiring and a bunch of other things that I just can’t seem to put into words at this very moment. I’m feeling rather random today, so I’m just going to jot down what’s on my mind.  Bear with me, or move on – your choice, although we both know that when I’m random there are often things that come out of my mouth that could be deemed as inappropriate and awkward.  You decide…

Random thought #1

On Sunday we met some folks at church who like to grind their own grain.  I’ve been hearing about the “Smith’s” for quite some time now but we could never seem to catch up with them.  Then, last week, out of the blue, Sam got a ‘friend request’ on Facebook from Mrs. Smith.  I told him he had to accept it so we could pick their brains for bread recipes.  He did as he was told – what a good husband I have!  We must get together with these people soon – they’re wonderful, and sweet, and thin, and organic.  I like them very much already and I barely know them.  Oh, and they were more than kind enough to share their secret bread recipe with me.  I’ll be making it this week I suspect.

Random thought #2

We watched Food, Inc. this weekend.  I’ve been trying to get Sam to rent it for a while now, and he was just determined that it was going to be too liberal, too out there, too crunchy for him and he wasn’t going to subject himself to it.  Finally he gave in…actually renting it this weekend was his idea.  We loved it.  And we hated it.  And it was slightly liberal.  And pretty crunchy.  And completely eye-opening.  I’m sure it’ll be one we end up purchasing when it becomes available.  We watched it twice this weekend – we wanted the information to be firmly implanted in our mind.  I don’t agree with everything that was said, but I understand the premise of the arguments and believe consumers need to take a stand against big government and big Agra.  We have a right to know what we’re eating.  Period.  If you haven’t seen it I encourage you to check it out and be prepared to be revolted, saddened, and yet empowered to do something better for yourself and your family.

Random thought #3

We spent a good bit of our weekend transplanting seedlings into growing cups.  This is tedious and time consuming work.  Not to mention boring.  But it needs to be done.  So far we have a couple of orders for East of Eden plants and we need to make sure we’ve got enough of these varieties to fill those orders.  I am ready for gardening.  The weather has been cruddy the past couple of weeks – cold, rainy, windy, overcast and dull.  I need sunshine and green grass and dirt under my fingernails.  That’s the good stuff.

Random thought #4

Sam started another batch of wort this weekend.  He’s quickly becoming obsessed with home brewing.  I’m glad too.  Not because we’re drinkers, because we’re really not, although we do enjoy a nice cider once in a while.  His obsession is more to do with the actual science and cooking process of making beer.  This is our second batch of wort and so far it’s turning out much better than the first, which I dumped down the drain because I thought it was ruined and had an afternoon of overzealous cleaning.  Turns out it probably wasn’t ruined.  The learning curve here is pretty broad, and different types of brews will react and ferment differently, so there is no standard “recipe” to follow, which is what we were doing.  Man it smelled good when it was swirling down the drain.  Darn, darn, darn.  All our neighbors are chomping at the bit to be our taste testers…

Random thought #5

My Gram is being moved into a nursing home this week.  So very sad.  But the gal is 90 years old and has lived a pretty darned good life.  She’s healthy as a horse, relatively speaking of course.  But her mind is gone.  I’ve posted on here before about her Alzheimer’s diagnosis last year, and we’ve known that this day was going to come eventually.  It’s tough because my Dad is the one who has to make all the hard decisions regarding her care.  He’s been putting this decision off for many, many months, but unfortunately Gram’s condition is just progressing too rapidly.  Thankfully the home has agreed to place her in assisted living for now, but they’ve been very forthcoming with us about the eminence of moving her into the full-time care Alzheimer’s unit .  That’ll be another sad day for us.  Hopefully after a few weeks she’ll get completely adapted and think this is where she’ll always lived.  We’ll see…

Random thought #6

Construction day 3.  There aren’t many new photos to post up yet, although I suspect this week will be a flurry of activity.  The crew is here this morning pouring the footings.   We had tons of rain on Thursday afternoon and all day Friday that I suspected they wouldn’t be able to do it today, but apparently the rain wasn’t a problem for them.  Good.  The sooner they get the footings poured and cured the sooner they can start framing up the roof and then it’s all downhill from there.  I’m looking forward to getting a move on with this project.

Random thought #7

As most of you know, I’ve declared a sabbatical from Facebook.  I’ve had lots of why questions.  To you, my response is simple…why not? Facebook isn’t reality.  It’s based in reality sure, but its not real relationships.  It’s not real life.  It’s snippets of life.  I have met more people through FB than I have in the real world.  That’s not normal.  Life is about interaction.  It’s about conversations – face to face ones.  I realize our world touts the ease of virtual relationships, but in that is a hidden evil that I don’t even care to discuss.  It’s an evil I am all too familiar with and one you don’t need to know about.

I don’t know about you, but I spend too darned much time on Facebook every day.  A typical day for me would begin around 7:30 a.m. with coffee and at least an hour and a half of Facebook time.  If I managed to pull myself away at that point I’d do some school work or laundry or cleaning or other chores for a few hours and then back onto FB for another hour or two or three.  By 4:00 p.m. I’d have to pull myself away in order to start preparing for dinner.  As soon as dinner was done, I was back on it for the remainder of the evening. Often times Sam and I would be in different parts of our house, each on our computers, not speaking.  He’d be working on his businesses, and I would be Facebooking.  I would venture a guess and say that on the average I was spending 5 to 8 hours a day on Facebook.  Try and tell me that’s healthy….NOT!

I’m sure at some point I’ll get back onto Facebook, but when that time is, I have no idea.  I do know that when I do it, I’m going to make sure I have some precautions in place that will prevent me from spending an exorbitant amount of time on there.  I want to enjoy life – real life.  I want to invite more people over for coffee or lunch or dinner.  I’d love to find some girlfriends who would come over each week for a night of cards or board games or just to hang out and watch a movie.  I want to cook for people, and cook with people.  I want to hang out with people who have common interests.  But in order to do that, I’ve actually got to meet some real people.  So…..anyone want to volunteer to be my real life friend?  I’ll bring cake.

One thought on “#400 and still random

  1. B…

    If Omaha were closer to Atlanta I’d definitely be your real life friend!!! You bring the cake, I’ll bring the coffee. Maybe one of these days I’ll actually do some travelling… it would be nice to catch up face to face!

    I told a lady at the Credit Union a couple of weeks ago about East of Eden farms. She’s totally into natural, organic, sustainable living and I told her about your experiment with homemade deoderant. She asked for the address of the blog.

    Hope you have a wonderful day and that construction goes smoothly. I’m looking forward to seeing picture updates!

    Renee

Leave a Reply

