I did it! I did it! I finally did it!

I don’t know what possessed me to do it, but I finally dug out my mom’s ancient pressure cooker and home canned some hot peppers this morning. We’ve been absolutely buried in the little devils for weeks now and I just can’t bear to dry anymore of them or chop them for the freezer.

Sam and I have been tossing around the idea of purchasing one of the new-fangled pressure cookers, but just haven’t brought ourselves to commit to the cost. My mother is brilliant at saving things and she brought her canner up to me almost two years ago. We used it nearly the whole time I was growing up to can green beans and salsa, but I’ve been too scared to dig it out and work it myself. But I did it! I really, really did it! And all by myself too.

I will admit that I was as nervous as a cat in a bath the whole time it was going, but now that my hot peppers are out of the cooker and cooling, and I can see they turned out right I know I can do it again in the future.

My biggest fear in using the pressure cooker has always been that I’d end up losing an eye or blowing a hole in my ceiling from the little weighted thingy on top. But everything worked as it should have…at least I think it did. Anyway, I’m totally psyched for next year’s garden now. Freezing things is really simple, but I only have so much freezer space and home canned fruits and veg are so much prettier!

Leave a Reply

