Reflections

Sometimes it’s difficult for me to really know and understand what God expects of me. What is a real Christian supposed to look like anyway? I mean, we all know Jesus was perfect – the only perfect person on Earth. Since I’m such an amazing and overly qualified sinner, I know I’m never going to rival his position. We hear people talk about reflecting the image of Christ, and some even throw out terms like bearing the Fruits of the Spirit (love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness, and self-control). But how can you be like Christ and bear those fruits if you don’t know how to act – how to live – how to speak?

I was comforted to know that I’m not the only one who thinks about this kind of predicament – seems it’s an age old question. Today in my devotions I came across the following Psalm, written by David – the greatest King in all of Israel’s history. His words seemed to echo my own thoughts this morning. In just a few short verses he breaks down how we’re supposed to live in order to reflect the image of Christ.

“Who may worship in your sanctuary, Lord?
Who may enter your presence on your holy hill?

Those who lead blameless lives and do what is right,
speaking the truth from sincere hearts.

Those who refuse to gossip
or harm their neighbors

or speak evil of their friends.

Those who despise flagrant sinners,
and honor the faithful followers of the L
ord,
and keep their promises even when it hurts.

Those who lend money without charging interest,
and who cannot be bribed to lie about the innocent.


Such people will stand firm forever.”

Psalm 15

Leave a comment

Filed under CHRISTIAN LIVING

Leave a Reply

