I’m ready for the weekend


I’ve listened to about 6 hours worth of college lectures today, and my mind is completely saturated. I did however finish up two more classes today, so I’ve only got to get through another 56 lectures and I’ll be done with all my class lectures – yeah! I still have tons of reading and writing to do for each of the courses, but I’m well on my way to being through this semester of college courses.

We have pretty big plans for the weekend, but yet we’re not doing anything significant. Tomorrow morning we’re leaving for Nashville. We’re taking the dogs up to the vet there to have a vocal cordectomy. We have to arrive at the vet’s office by 8:30 a.m. CST so we’ll be leaving our house around 4 a.m. Ugh. Looks like another short night and a long day ahead of us. We will however be spending the balance of Friday with my beautiful cousin Brandi and her husband John. They live near Nashville and we haven’t had a chance to see them since this time last year when we all met up in Chattanooga. I know we’ll have a great time with them.

On Saturday we’re going to be picking up the newest member of our family. That’s right, we’re getting another dog. Yes, I know, I can hear you out there scratching your head and mentally going through the list of dogs we currently own. I realize we’ve just completed our beautiful new basement, but honestly, it’s not a big deal. This new addition will only put us up to four dogs, and that’s eleven shy of our current record. Eli is a gorgeous Siberian Husky, and he will be two years old on Saturday. I will introduce him on here properly at some point next week.

I’m sure that the remainder of Saturday will be spent enjoying some kind of grilled meat and fresh veggies from our garden, a few cold glasses of iced tea, and to top the night off we’ll watch a lovely fireworks display, courtesy of our very own Brookstone HOA, from the comfort of our back deck. I love summertime!

The rest of our weekend is pretty much free as a jaybird. Sam is off through Monday, so we’ll just lounge around the house, reading and writing, maybe catch a movie, I’m sure we’ll manage to sneak in a few naps as well!

So to start the weekend off on the right foot I’m headed up to the kitchen to whip us up a delightful supper of homemade spinach gnocchi, marinara sauce made from tomatoes and fresh herbs picked from my own garden, some fresh garden green beans, and a bowl of chocolate pudding (yes, these are all South Beach friendly recipes too – can’t put the weight loss on hold for a little thing like the 4th of July!). I hope y’all have a great and safe holiday!

One thought on “I’m ready for the weekend

  1. Anonymous

    Way to go great job on the school work and keep up the the hard studing.Good luck on the new addassion to the family of pets.Have a very good dinner and a supper week-end and safe one on the road. Love you both. Dad

Leave a Reply

