The heater…..in June?????

Our house has two air conditioners – one for upstairs and one for downstairs. This means that 99.999% of the time we have two very different climates in our house as we don’t keep both A/C units on at the same time. There’s really no point. I’m the only one home during the day and I don’t wander all over the house when I am home. For the most part, we only turn the upstairs A/C on at night before we go to bed, which means the downstairs A/C is off. And vise versa during the day.

The fun thing about this dual unit control is that you can tell where the climate changes as you’re walking up or down our stairs. At the half way point your head hits the upstairs climate – whether it’s warm or cool, and your feet are in the downstairs climate. It’s a strange sensation really.

This morning I was on my way downstairs at about 7:15 a.m. and as my feet hit the half way point in the stair way I suddenly felt as if I’d stepped in a tub of hot water, only without the water part. As I progressed down the stairs the warmth was creeping up my legs, my waist, my chest, and then my entire body was submerged in this unbelievably stifling heatwave. My first thought was, “Wow, it must really be hot outside and Sam forgot to turn on the air when he got up this morning.” As I continued to walk toward the living room it kept getting hotter and hotter and hotter. And then a somewhat scary thought occurred to me. “It’s too hot to be overnight heat. Did Sam turn on the heater?………….Surely not!” I thought to myself as I walked toward the thermostat, sweat beading up on my forehead and upper lip.

Stepping in front of the thermostat I noticed the temperature gauge was pushed up over 90 degrees, which is what we do at night to make sure the A/C stays off. But as I peeked around to the side of the thermostat to see what position the on/off switch was in, I was horrified to see it pushed up to HEAT! That’s right folks. Instead of turning the air off last night, my beloved husband turned the HEAT on. And not only did he turn the heat on, but he cranked it up to 90 degrees. No wonder my house felt like a sauna. I had to go outside just to stop sweating! Sheesh – darned sausages!

1 Comment

Filed under HOME AND GARDEN

One response to “The heater…..in June?????

  1. Niecey

    Oh man. I did it once, I went to switch the air on in the night because were were too hot, but with my glasses off in the pitch dark and half asleep, I accidentally switched it to heat instead of air con. A couple hours later we were still sweating it out and it dawned on me what I had done. I guess it runs in the family.

Leave a Reply

