Oddities

Every one of us have certain things that we do that just make us who we are. Things we do that other people don’t understand. Our things generate looks of wonder and bewilderment, and even the occasional question or two. They’re oddities and habits that define us and how we operate. Sometimes they’re crazy and wild and other times they’re unusual and irrational. But that’s just us, right!

A couple of my oddities happen at night. The first thing I do when I crawl into bed is put on Vick’s Vapo Rub. No, I don’t have a cold or even allergies, but I use it as chap stick on my lips. I am a chap stick addict – just ask Sam. I put chap stick on my lips at least a dozen or more times each day and always before I go to bed at night. I hate having dry lips. I hate looking at other people’s dry lips too – it’s just disgusting to see big chunks of skin hanging from their lips and I always think it must be painful for them to smile or open their mouths very wide. It always makes me want to go out and buy them some chap stick.

The second thing I do is spray my feet and legs. I keep a spray bottle of water on my bedside table. As I’m getting into bed I mist my legs and feet with water. We sleep with fans on in our room (for the noise mostly, but in the summertime it helps keep the air circulating around), and as I lay on top of the covers with wet legs and feet the air circulation cools me right off. It can be 80 degrees in our bedroom and within fifteen minutes I’m under the covers because my legs and feet have cooled down to the point of being almost cold. It sounds strange I know, but you should try it and see if it doesn’t work really well for you too.

The third thing I do is flip my pillow over. I want to lay on the cold side. This is especially effective in the winter when the room is naturally cold. I hate laying in a cold bed, but I want to lay my head down on a cold pillow. I know, it doesn’t make any sense what-so-ever, but it’s who I am.

Another one of my oddities is fidgeting. I know everyone fidgets, but for me it is a certain type of fidgeting. It’s just my foot, and I hang it off the side of the bed (outside of the covers) and shake it pretty violently. It drives Sam absolutely bonkers, and for that reason I try to only do it when he’s not in the bed. But it’s such an automatic thing for me I sometimes don’t even realize I’m doing it until he lets out a big sigh and says something to the effect of, “Do I need to go back downstairs to my chair until you get to sleep?” or “You’re fidgeting again and it’s driving me crazy.”

And the final strange thing I do at night is to elevate something. I don’t do this all the time, but there are times when I just feel like I need to raise my hand up in the air and hold it there. Or my leg for that matter. Now I’m not talking about just lifting it off the bed and holding it, I’m talking about laying on my side and putting my arm or leg straight up in the air at a 90 degree angle to my body. It’s almost like a balancing act. My arm is the easiest of the two limbs to do this with. It’s quite comfortable and it helps me to focus so completely on my arm/leg remaining in the air that I go to sleep quite fast.

Shortly after Sam and I were married he woke up one night and let out a little startled shout. My arm was straight up in the air and I was dead asleep. He didn’t have his glasses on (obviously) and all he saw was a dark, shadowy figure looming over me. He quickly composed himself and flipped on the bedside light, which woke me up. Once I realized what he was seeing I burst out laughing. He had the strangest look on his face and wanted to know if I was dreaming about being in school with my hand raised like it was. I told him “Nope, it just helps me sleep better.” To this day he still doesn’t understand it.

So what about you? Do you have any ticks, twitches, or oddities that others don’t understand but just make you who you are? Leave me a comment and let me know. It’ll be nice to know that I’m not alone.

One thought on “Oddities

  1. Niecey

    That sounds really weird! But I agree, we're all weird in one way or another.I like Rene to sort of rub my toes at night. Like as if he's picking out fluff from in between them. Or digging our dry skin or something. He'll be giving me a foot rub or something, then I'll ask him to do my toes. hehe. It's really weird.

Leave a Reply

