Primitive musings

Today, I was sitting in my living room staring off into space. My mind was blank. I was completely uninspired and I was hoping that it would miraculously land on something…really anything to keep me occupied, even if temporarily. And as I stared blankly around the room my eyes found a somewhat small and nondescript framed primitive piece of stitchery on the wall. I stared at it…and stared at it…and stared at it. Mulling the words over in my mind and heart.

Thoughts become words.
Words become actions.
Actions become habits.
Habits become character.
Character is everything.

Thoughts become words. Luke 6:45 says, “The good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and the evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart. For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks.”

Words become actions. 1 John 3:18 says, “Dear children, let us not love with words or tongue, but with actions and truth.”

Actions become habits. Titus 1:16 says, “They claim to know God, but by their actions they deny Him. They are detestable, disobedient and unfit for doing any good.”

Habits become character. 1 Corinthians 15:33 says, “Do not be misled. Bad company corrupts good character.”

Character is everything. Proverbs 12:4 says, “A wife of noble character is her husband’s crown, but a disgraceful wife is like decay in his bones.”

I will admit to you that I have failed on some level (even multiple times) at every one of these points.

I have spent far too much time dwelling on idle thoughts – thoughts that have ended up getting me into trouble in more ways than one.

Good, bad, and ugly words that I have spoken in private have eventually found a way to reflect though me in public – in the way that I act, react, speak, and think about others.

Research has shown that if you want to create a habit, repeat an action just seven times and it will be burned into your psyche and become a regular habit for you.

Our character is what defines us. It has nothing to do with what we think of ourselves, but solely what the world thinks of us. It is simply how we are known by others. It not only encompasses everything we do but also the things we don’t do. It is our very core nature. And it is honed every day through our thoughts, words, actions, and habits.

So what are your thoughts, words, actions and habits saying about you to the outside world? Do they tell the story of a person who is loving, joyful, peaceful, patient, full of kindness and gentleness, faithful, compassionate, and even self-controlled? I know I’ve still got lots of work to do…how about you?

Leave a comment

Filed under CHRISTIAN LIVING

Leave a Reply

