Thank you Jesus!

Since starting the South Beach diet, I have been ever so pleased with the nearly limitless possibilities for dining options. In almost every case, I’ve been able to come up with some type of South Beach alternative to the foods that we love. And even if it’s not exactly the food that we want, we’re still able to achieve a similar flavor to the one we’re craving.

However, as one would suspect I have not been able to find a suitable flavor alternative to a good ol’ greasy pizza. For one thing, the crust is a big no-no. I do have whole wheat flour and a bread recipe that I think I can tweak enough to make some kind of crust like base, but I find whole wheat anything quite dry and mostly repulsive. So for the past six weeks, we’ve spent out Sunday nights dreaming about a yummy, gooey, delicious, greasy, salty, pepperoni pizza with extra cheese and yet eating salad or leftovers from lunch.

But as it often does, inspiration struck me out of the blue. On Friday night we were discussing our weight loss and exercise options, and Sam mentioned a lady that works for him who goes to the gym every morning at 6 a.m. She is a faithful workout queen, but never really seems to lose any weight. Sam had taken some turkey pepperoni for a snack that day and happened to be eating it while talking to her and she mentioned that she loved it too and usually ate it with melted cheese. Hmmmm. Melted cheese, you say?? The minute I heard that, my mind started to whir and buzz. Melted cheese? Lets think on that for a while. That might actually work.

So last night as we were commiserating our lack of Sunday night pizza, I dug out the bag of turkey pepperoni and some 2% reduced fat mozzarella cheese. I lined up three rows of the pepperoni on the tray – making sure all sides touched each other, and then sprinkled a generous amount of the mozzarella on top of it. I popped it a 425 degree oven for about 8 minutes, until the cheese was all melted and gooey and golden brown. I slid the entire sheet off onto a plate and let it set for a minute. Sam and I both tore off a piece, said a little prayer to the pizza gods, and gave it a taste.

I’m sure that I heard angels singing somewhere. I became instantly light headed, and I was sorry that I didn’t have more pepperoni. SHEER BLISS I TELL YOU!!!!

Oh, by the way, for those of you who are following my little weight loss foray, I’m now down a total of 29 pounds since February 23rd! I love the South Beach Diet!

1 Comment

Filed under COOKIN' WITH B, WEIGHT LOSS

One response to “Thank you Jesus!

  1. Niecey

    Well done on 29lb down! It seems the South Beach plan is working out perfectly for you guys. That’s fantastic.

Leave a Reply

