Musicals, Dramas, Romantic Comedies, and Action Adventure

I like to watch movies so much more than television. I’m not a fan of the commercial, and with TV these days, you get to see 8 minutes at a time of a program, followed by 15 minutes of commercials. That really leaves a bad taste in my mouth. So to combat this frustration, Sam and I have accumulated quite a few movies over the years. When our collection gets too large, or we’ve stopped watching a movie over and over again we’ll donate it to the public library (or sometimes we’ll send it to one of the kids/grandkids).

Lately, we’ve found ourselves drawn to the discount movie wracks. We like some of the new movies that have come out, but for the most part we thoroughly enjoy the “oldies”. There’s nothing better than to sit down with a bowl of popcorn and a glass of tea and flip on an old black and white movie. I find myself getting lost in the nostalgia of it all – it makes me feel like I’ve been transported back in time to days of old Hollywood glamour – to a kinder, gentler America.

A while back, we were shopping around in the Dollar Tree and they were selling old TV shows and flicks 2 for a $1. We picked up a couple of the made-for-TV shows – The Howdy Doody Gang and a 12 pack of really old Sherlock Holmes programs. We loved them. We have also found Walmart’s $5, $7 and “two-for” bins to be a great place to pick up some old favorites. This past weekend I was able to purchase a 3-pack of classic musicals which included Carousel, Oklahoma, and State Fair for just $5. Three greats, I might add. And Sam picked up a 2-pack of the Apple Dumpling Gang movies with Don Knotts, also for just $5. And I completely adore the Herecule Poiroit flicks when I run across them – excellent murder mysteries!

So what about you? Are you a fan of the movie theater and all the ne blockbuster releases, or do you prefer to enjoy movies in the comfort of your own home?

Leave a Reply

