It’s just squidgy…

So far we’re nearly through Phase 1 of the South Beach Diet. Beginning Monday we’ll start slowly introducing carbs and fruit back into our life. I’m really quite nervous. Even this week, I’ve experienced a really amazing amount of weight loss (I won’t report the actual loss until Monday, sorry) considering I’ve had such little success with other diet plans. I still don’t ‘see’ any real changes in my appearance, but somewhere I’m smaller!

One of my fears about next weeks introduction is the reintroduction of cravings, urges, cheating. As I’ve said about a billion times here before, I’m a carb hound. And honestly I’ve become very comfortable on Phase 1. I like the foods I can eat. My body isn’t suffering from constant hunger and withdrawal symptoms. I feel so much healthier. I’m eating vegetables, and even enjoying some of them. I like the rate of weight loss, etc. Once carbs and sugars are added back into our food regime the weight loss will drop to 1 to 2 pounds a week – otherwise known as a more ‘healthy’ rate. Quite frankly, I’m not a health nut, so I say let’s get the weight off and then worry about being healthy once I’m skinny again! But Sam’s not listening… So we’ll see how it goes over the next couple of weeks.

Now for the “squidgy” part of this post. Last night, in an effort to keep our meals interesting as well as tasty, I tried another new recipe out of the South Beach Diet Cookbook. This recipe was in the vegetarian section and contained an ingredient that I’ve never eaten before in my entire life………..tofu. I was nervous, but the recipe was for Tofu Cacciatore, and the accompanying photo looked so tasty I decided to give it a shot. I followed the recipe accordingly (which was most difficult for me) and was relieved to hear Sam commenting on how good supper smelled when he walked through the door last night. He’s been craving pizza like a fiend, so his taste buds were crying out for something Italian-y.

As we served ourselves up, I saw him looking strangely at the tofu – he’s eaten it before and has always said he never liked it. I decided to be the brave one and take the first bite. At first I was met with a very pleasant taste from the homemade chunky vegetable sauce, and then I encountered it. The tofu. It didn’t taste bad at all. In fact, it didn’t taste like anything. But it had this unusual texture. It wasn’t creamy like mozzarella cheese. And it wasn’t grainy like ricotta cheese. It didn’t feel like anything I’ve ever eaten before. It was just………squidgy. I swallowed, looked down at my plate and decided to work through it. Sam laughed – I knew why. He predicted that I wouldn’t like it, and he was right.

I’m a texture kind of girl. I can eat just about anything, but if the texture is too weird, I don’t care how good it tastes I just have a difficult time eating it. Mushrooms are one of the things that have the wrong texture for me. Raw in a salad is about the only way I can stand to eat them – the minute you introduce heat to them and they become somewhat soft, my gag reflex immediately kicks into high gear. To me, they become slimy, overpoweringly strong flavored, and rubbery. They might smell good, but that smell can’t carry them all the way to my stomach. Tofu was that same kind of thing for me. The texture was just too wet, too bland, too squidgy for me to bear. I at all but one bite and called it quits.

Sam on the other hand, took the smart route – he trashed the tofu and just ate the chunky sauce. He loved it, and felt it was a good alternative to pizza. All the flavors he’s been craving were there, just not the crust. So, I’ll make it again – minus the tofu – and we’ll eat it as a chunky vegetable sauce on pasta, as a side dish to grilled meats and fish, and even as a faux pizza alternative. Every dark cloud has a silver lining!

1 Comment

Filed under COOKIN' WITH B

One response to “It’s just squidgy…

  1. Niecey

    But you’ve gotta do tofu properly. First. set it out in a cheese cloth for a couple hours, let it drain away the liquid. Then saute it in seasonings and oil is best, but maybe you can’t use oil in the diet? You can bake it too, but saute is best. Or, puree it and mix it into the sauce, to make the sauce nice and creamy, and give it a protein boost.

Leave a Reply

