What are we really dealing with?

My ladies Bible study group started a study series in the book of Luke a few weeks ago, and today we were in chapters 4 and 5 – discussing the authority that Jesus exercised over the forces of the supernatural – specifically demons. Of course, one thing led to another and the next thing I know, we’ve take a rabbit trail and we were discussing the powers of the supernatural.

Many (Christian) ladies bravely shared experiences they’d had with loved ones that had passed along, premonitions, de’ja vu, and various encounters with actual supernatural beings. They wanted to know if these things were really from God? Could it possibly be the Holy Spirit manipulating our thoughts? Or perhaps they were just hallucinations and coincidences.

Honestly at many points in the conversation I felt myself at a loss. I am a person who believes in the supernatural, however I do not place much stock in ghosts and close encounters of the supernatural kind. While the ladies were sharing and discussing, I found myself wondering if a mother’s intuition is really that, or is it something more? And does the Devil plant de’ja vu into our heads so he can manipulate the circumstances later – sewing seeds of doubt and fear in our minds? I have found myself manipulated by my own grief in many ways – even to the point of believing that I was being visited by a dead parent. Was I hallucinating, or was it just a familiar spirit as suggested by the scriptures?

Hebrews 9:27 tells me, “And just as each person is destined to die once and after that comes judgement,…” If that is taken at face value (as I believe everything in the Bible should be) then it is impossible for us to have been visited by our dead friends and family. But does that mean these are angels in the form of our friends – or evil spirits, sent to lure us away from God – creating a need for us to continue to search within the realms of the supernatural to find the answers we so desperately seek in our grief?

I have a very dear friend and his wife who’ve run a mission for over 40 years now – reaching out to people who’ve found themselves snagged in the web of the occult. They themselves have come out of Spiritualism and they both have fantastic stories of all they experienced while they were involved. I have seen their photo albums and have heard their testimony many times. I know them to be genuine people who are wholly devoted to Christ, and they swear the forces of the Devil are still alive and active today. But my question would be, do the things my Bible study group described fall into that category, or are they just mere coincidences and mind trickery?

I don’t have all the answers. I don’t even have some of the answers. Shoot, I don’t even know if I’m asking the right questions. Truthfully, I believe in the supernatural only because the Bible tells me it exists. I have tried to contact the spirit world before but never had any luck; and I’ve always held the (comical) idea that “I ain’t afraid of no ghosts;” but it’s days like today that make me wonder if I’m not the one who’s wrong. I truly do wonder if the spirit world is still as active today as it was in the Bible? Perhaps I’ve been too de-sensitized by the Hollywood world of special effects, where computers and stuntmen manipulate reality so fantastically that I now fail to see the ordinary, mundane comings and goings of the darkness that lies all around us. I just wonder……….

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

