Sittin’ around, makin’ up names

I don’t know if you’re like me or not, but one of the things I enjoy doing in my free time is to think up names. I’ve done it for most of my life. When I was a kid, I made up names for my Barbies and my dolls. I didn’t just have “Skipper”; no, no, she was called Skipper Taffy, and she was best friends with Reagan Clarissa.

When I was a teenager I used to ponder the names of my four future children. My two boys would be named Darrian Michael and Devon Stone, and my two girls were going to be Samantha Jade and Alexandra Olivia Gabrielle. As I moved into high school and college, I used to spend hours daydreaming about my future husband – I could see myself being married to a Skylar or a Brett, or even a Jared or Taylor.

Now that I’m happily married to a Sam and there is no chance of children of my own, I now sit around and ponder names of my future pets. I’ve often thought it would be funny to have a whole team of sleddogs named after the 12 Apostles. James and John (nicknamed the Son’s of Thunder) would have to be the wheel dogs, while Peter and Andrew would be the leaders. And there’s no way a Doubting Thomas or a Bartholomew would be left behind.

Our one litter of pups, born in 1997, were named after some of Sam’s favorite historical figures – William Wallace, Sir Robert the Bruce, Sir Galahad, Geronimo, and Mary Queen of Scots.

I think it’d be fun to have a litter of Dachshunds named after famous hotdogs (yeah I know, it’s probably not very original). There’d be Coney I-Lander, Mustard’s Last Stand, Nuclear Relish, Fenway Frank, Dodger Dawg, Pink’s Passion, Big Red Smokie, and Weiner-Schnitzel.

I also sit around and think of titles for books and songs (and blogs). Sam actually came up with a great book title to his basic investment book that will be a sequel to IOU NO MORE. We could call it PO’ NO MO’! I think it’s brilliant, but he feels it may be a bit too politically incorrect. I mean, how funny would it be to have a schizophrenic pastry chef name their blog Flake-n-Bake, or how about a New York rapper with a CD title of Sing-Sing.

So what about you? Do you have any crazy hobbies?

1 Comment

Filed under RANDOM THOUGHTS

One response to “Sittin’ around, makin’ up names

  1. alex

    I missed seeing Nathan as one of your dachshunds :-)Yup- I’ve made up lists of children’s names (I’ve used 5 of them, but still have more unused lol)One day I will get a “blue” greyhound- Jean ?Sky ?London?Heaven?Cadet ?Suede ?Jay ?Danube ?

Leave a Reply

