Burt’s Bees does Baby

This morning was the first baby shower I’ve attended in 10 years. Lets just say that even though I’m in my early 30s I just don’t have many “new mommy” friends – that’s not really my scene. Anyway, one of the ladies in my Tuesday morning group had a baby a couple of weeks ago, and even though this isn’t her first (or even her second or third – it’s her 5th) our group decided we wanted to throw her a baby shower. She was so touched that a bunch of women who don’t really know her that well wanted to honor her and baby Gabriel. What she doesn’t understand yet is that we’re a bunch of Christians who don’t need too much of a reason to eat! It was a fun morning though, and she received some very neat gifts.

As I’m not a mommy myself, I have no idea about what to buy for these kinds of events. I have a huge aversion to diapers – mostly to what you find inside of them – so I wasn’t about to give her any of those. And since I hadn’t seen baby Gabriel yet I wasn’t sure about his size, so clothes seemed to be out of the questions. Instead, I opted for the safe route – body care. I found the cutest Burt’s Bees products that are all natural baby care products. They have Buttermilk Bath Wash that comes in an old-timey glass milk jar. Apricot oil with flax seed and other good herbs. Talc-free dusting powder. Buttermilk soaps. All natural diaper rash ointment. Oh it was just too irresistible to pass up…so I bought one of everything. Do you think that was too much?!

2 thoughts on “Burt’s Bees does Baby

Leave a Reply

