Love notes

Sam and I have been married for over a decade, and yet there are many days my heart still flutters wildly in my chest when he looks at me, or when he holds my hand, or when he embraces me in a tender hug. In many ways I still feel like we’re newlyweds even though I’m as comfortable with him as a 50 year veteran.

When we married, I was a blushing bride who didn’t know my head from a hole in the ground – as far as relationships went. I was 22 and had not been in any healthy serious relationships. I hadn’t dated that often, so I was really fairly new to this whole ‘couple’ thing. Man did I make some really bad gaffs during the first couple of years of our marriage, but Sam didn’t get upset; in fact, most of the time he’d chuckle and then swoop me up in a big bear hug, plant a soft kiss on my face, look deep into my eyes and tell me how much he loved me. Man I’m a lucky girl.

When we married, the days of having laptops and blackberries and iPhones with global Internet and instant access email and messaging were still a few years off into the future. But I wanted to make sure that my beloved knew that he was loved and cherished every day. So I started writing him little love notes. I’d stick them in his lunchbox, his briefcase, his jacket pocket, his Bible, his wallet, under his razor, on the car visor, taped around his Diet Coke, on the steering wheel of his truck, on the back of his office door, in between the pages of his day calendar – wherever I could think of. And in return he started doing the same thing to me. It was fun – like a lover’s game, and it was special to us. Once the Internet became available email replaced our written notes.

And to this very day, first thing in the morning when I sit down at my computer I check my email and send my beloved a little love note. I want him to know that even after all these years he’s still my number one squeeze. The main thing. The love of my life. My Galahad. The one who holds the keys to my heart. My beloved. My sweetie. My forever husband (meaning he’s got to live at least as long as I do). I want him to know that no matter what’s happening in our life, how good or bad things are, how stressful or calm they happen to be, that he’s still the last thing I think about when I close my eyes in sleep and the first thing on my mind when I wake up. He’s the love of my life.

So how about y’all? What is it that you do that’s just between you and your love?

1 Comment

Filed under FAMILY LIFE, SAM

One response to “Love notes

  1. Niecey

    I used to write dad notes too. When I’d have to leave for Scotland I’d write notes and hide them for him to find when I was gone đŸ™‚ He’s spoiled for notes then, hehe

Leave a Reply

