A Medical Mess

Well, after a year of living in Georgia; and a year of fighting with our insurance company to get us switched off of the Maine network and onto the Georgia network; and a year of allergy issues, Sam finally made it to the doctor this morning! Praise the Lord! Miraculously he walked away with only three prescriptions and a follow-up appointment for sometime next month. I’m really hoping that all these new medications help him feel better and get his allergy issues under control. I need a healthy husband – we don’t have nearly enough life insurance yet to cover him stroking out on me!

Don’t ya love going to a new doctor? I don’t. In fact, I don’t even like going to the doctor at all. I avoid them. Like the plague. And vegetables. And low fat foods. Pretty much every time I’ve ever gone to one they tell me the same thing – I need to lose weight, I need to get my blood pressure under control, and I need to lose weight. Well, duh!

I actually had one doctor ask me if I liked to eat. I won’t lie to you – I asked her if she’d had her eyes tested recently. She wasn’t wearing glasses, so I thought she might need to look into getting some. Honestly, if you’ve ever seen me, you’d know right away that I like to eat. I look like the Stay-Puffed Marshmallow Man – except I’m a girl. This woman went to medical school and had been practicing nutritional medicine for several years – her powers of deduction were astounding. Needless to say, I haven’t been back.

3 thoughts on “A Medical Mess

  1. Niecey

    I used to skip my asthma clinic in Scotland all the time, because the nurse there would go on and on about how I need to lose weight. And she looked about 50lb overweight herself! She was so patronizing. Even after I told her I was pregnant she was still going on about me going n a diet. So annoying. I know I’m fat, I don’t need it pointed out, it’s rather obvious and hard to miss thank you very much.

  2. Snobound

    Exactly! It’s like they think we’ve never looked in a mirror, stepped on a scales, or went shopping! “I’m FAT??? Whatever are you talking about doc? I’ve never noticed! Is that why I have trouble fitting into booths at restaurants? Or why I’ve got to get the seat belt extender on an airplane? Or why I seem to have back boobs? I just thought I’d been stung by a bee.”Idiots!

Leave a Reply

