Catchin’ flies with honey


When I was a teenager, my mother always told me I’d catch more flies with honey than I would with vinegar. And she was right. I had a wicked nasty attitude as a youngster, and that was always reflected in my tongue. As I’ve matured, I like to think that I’m much more in control of my tongue than I used to be, and I always try to remember my mom’s advise, especially when I’m in a stressful situation. But sometimes my emotions get the better of me and I snap, and get ugly.

In reality, that happens to us all from time to time. When we’re stressed or tired, we forget to be nice to people – especially our spouse and family. In a marriage relationship, a breakdown in communication is one of the major factors for marital discord. It’s easy to bring our work problems home with us – taking the frustration you feel toward your boss or a co-worker out on your spouse and children.

Our tongue is the most powerful muscle in our entire body. Although it’s size is relatively inconsequential, we can build people up with it as well as tear them down. More damage is done with our tongue than with any other part of our body. The Bible is full of advise about controlling our tongue. It says that a tongue that lies, deceives, slanders, plots evil, boasts, and is uncontrolled should be cut out. But a tongue that sings the praises of the Lord, is truthful, is tamed and speaks good of other is as sweet as honey. I don’t know about you, but I really don’t want my tongue cut out; although based on this criteria it seems that’s what I deserve most of the time. How about you?

Leave a Reply

