Random thoughs from the mind of a nut

Since I’m still pretty sick today and unable to form cohesive thoughts, this blog is just going to be full of randomness. I apologize in advance for those of you who thought you were going to be reading something worthwhile and meaningful. But we all have these kinds of days occasionally. Just bear with me and before you know it, we’ll be back to normal…I promise.

* When we were sitting in the airport in Kansas City on Monday waiting for our plane to arrive, an older man (early 70’s maybe) sat down in the seat adjacent to me and began picking his nose….and eating his boogers. He wasn’t even discrete about it. Eventually he pulled a hankie out of his pocket and blew his nose. My first thought when I saw the hankie was, “Oh no, the appetizer plate wasn’t enough for him…now he’s got to dive into the buffet line!” This was truly one of my most grossed out moments of all time!

* I’ve still not finalized my Christmas letter for our Christmas cards. I’ve written the dumb thing twice now, and I’m still not satisfied with the result. The first letter seemed so benign. In the second letter I said that our friends and family were the “compost” in our life. I didn’t mean it to sound like they’re the crap that holds us together or anything like that, but merely that they are the good stuff that enriches us. Doesn’t matter though, I know how people will end up taking it, so I’ve had to scrap that letter to. I’m SO far behind schedule this year. Normally I’ve got my cards written, addressed, and stamped by the 4th of July. This year I’ve really been dawdling.

* My dogs need to go on a diet. Thanks to the kennel they’ve become little porkers. Two of the three are easy keepers anyway (that means they gain weight just sniffing the dog food bags), but when they go to the kennel they seem to bloat up almost overnight. So for the next week or two they’ll only be getting two-thirds their normal portion. Don’t want them to look (and walk) like their masters!

* Have you ever seen people with “holiday hair”? When we were leaving for our Thanksgiving trip, I saw several women who obviously had just had their hair done, and it was appropriately color coded for Thanksgiving. One lady had bright orange braids. Another woman had a golden braided up-do. And a third young woman had the brightest pink hair I’ve ever seen. It was the exact same color as her hot pink pants. It was the most ridiculous hair color I’ve ever seen on a white girl….EVER!! I wished I’d packed my camera in my purse…I’d have taken a photo just to prove how dorky she looked.

Well, I think that’s about all the fun I can come up with for right now. I have so much to do around the house that I need to go and have a nap just to build up enough energy to maybe get in the shower and then put something on other than my pajamas. I hope tomorrow is better….

Leave a Reply

