We’re gonna need a bigger boat….

This past weekend Sam and I spend all day Saturday shopping for groceries. We have so enjoyed the freedom of not shopping at the store on a weekly basis that we decided to try shopping for an entire month in one day. As much as I dreaded going, I found it to be quite exciting once we were out and about.

I don’t know about you, but I just love going to the bulk warehouse clubs. We have a membership at one of them, and at the time Sam informed me that he’d purchased the membership through his work (at a discounted price, I might add) I rolled my eyes and thought to myself, “Well, that was a huge waste of money – what are we ever going to shop there for…it’s just the two of us?!” I was wrong. Yes, that’s right girls and boys, I can admit when I’ve been mistaken.

I’m not exactly sure just what it is about the whole warehouse shopping experience that I’m completely enamored with; whether it’s the giant carts and rolling pallets, to the 25+ pound bags of flour and rice, or the 5 pound bags of powdered cheddar cheese sauce, or the mega rolls of toilet paper. Every time we walk through the doors I feel a giddy sense of wonder and excitement, as if we’ve entered some sort of twilight zone; and I stare wide-eyed at the giant rows of giant foods, and my arms become covered in goose-bumps and the hair on the back of my neck stands on end. And who knows, it may be something as simple as the fact that shopping there gives me the freedom to easily purchase a month’s worth of food and not look like a crazy person!

I feel compelled to share with you that there is another perk to shopping in bulk besides the euphoria of loading your car down with giant cans of beef ravioli and cereal boxes the size of small houses. Bulk cooking! And I love to do it. I think that in a past life I must have been a plantation house cook. I love cooking in bulk. There’s nothing more satisfying to me than making a 6 pound batch of meat sauce that can be used in several different ways. Or freezing up 3 pounds of fresh marinara sauce. Or prepping a couple hundred TVP meatballs. Not only is it fun to stand over a huge bubbling cauldron that’s wafting delicious smells all through your house, but it makes for easy and quick dinners on the nights when I’m too tired to cook. All I have to do is pull out a bag of sauce, thaw it in some warm water, and toss it with some fresh pasta, or stir in a few cans of beans for a hearty bowl of chili. And there’s no dinner that’s easier than oven baked meatball hoagies with gooey-melty slices of buffalo mozzarella. Mmmm. My mouth is watering just thinking about it.

2 Comments

Filed under COOKIN' WITH B

2 responses to “We’re gonna need a bigger boat….

  1. RazorFamilyFarms.com

    We buy in bulk, too. It’s certainly the way to go! I fill large bins (lidded) with bread flour, all-purpose flour, and sugar. I buy butter in bulk and then can it up.Awesome post!Blessings!Lacy http://www.RazorFamilyFarms.com

  2. Sam

    It’s been days now and I still haven’t tasted any of that hearty meat sauce! Tick Toc….

Leave a Reply

