I think we may have a winner

Sometimes a recipe just jumps off the pages at me and screams, “MAKE ME!” On Friday I received my newest issue of Cooking with Paula Deen, a magazine I’ve been taking now for three years. I love to read it, but in truth I have made very few of her recipes because they are things that sound good on paper, but I never seem to have all the ingredients and they’re not things that make it onto my regular shopping list. However, Friday night all that changed.

As I was lazily perusing the pages of the magazine, a “cheesy” photo and caption caught my eye – “Grand Prize Winner & Memorable Main Dish Winner”. I flipped the page and read through the recipe….Everything Baked Potato Lasagna. How bad could that be? I love loaded baked potatoes and I love lasagna, so I decided to try it out since I just so happened to have all the ingredients in my pantry.

Oh man, my kitchen smelled so divine yesterday while I was putting all the components of the dish together, and by the time I got everything layered in the pan I was ready to dive in. But, Sam and I had agreed that we’d wait to eat it until today – it was going to be our Sunday after-church lunch.

So, after church today, I popped it into the oven, and we paced around like hungry lions for nearly an hour, waiting for it to heat up all the way. The house filled with the smells of cheesy potatoes, and our stomachs growled loudly. Finally, the moment of truth arrived, and here’s what Sam had to say about it all…

This recipe can be found in the November/December 2008 issue of Cooking with Paula Deen, page 36.

2 thoughts on “I think we may have a winner

  1. ~*Liz*~

    Mmmmmm. I think I can smell it! I’ve never heard of potato lasagna…interesting! Thanks for the info!~Lizwww.AGiveawayADay.blogspot.com

  2. Rene

    Ok, you HAVE to make this when you come visit. Please, Please, Please! You must, or I suspect I will die without ever knowing its delight….. 😦

Leave a Reply

