Where are you?

I am naturally a curious person. I love to observe folk. I just know that I’m going to be one of those old people who spends my day sitting in front of a thinly veiled window with a set of binoculars and a note pad so I can watch all the comings and goings of my neighborhood. And honestly, I’m looking forward to that! So when I see that there are people who stop by this blog from all across the world (literally, which is completely cool, I think) I just get so excited, and then I sit around all day long and wonder what your life is like.

But as exciting as those thoughts are to me, I have to tell ya that I get even more excited when people stop in from places that I’m familiar with, because that makes me wonder if I know you. Now really, unless we’re related the chances that I do actually know you are pretty slim, but I wanted to share with you all the places that I’ve lived, because there is still a chance that somewhere along the way we might have crossed paths…

1975-1994: Born and raised in southwest Kansas. Just call me Dorothy! From the time I was 7, I lived in Garden City, Kansas and graduated from high school in 1994; but when I was younger I lived in Leoti, Great Bend, Ness City, and Lakin. Man I hated living in SW Kansas – it was flat, hot, windy, full of stinky feedlots and farmers. I couldn’t wait to run away over the rainbow!

1994-1995: Moved to Bartlesville, Oklahoma to attend college – that didn’t work out too well for me. I fell in love and forgot that I was supposed to be there for a college education and not sex education (sorry Mom and Dad).

1995-1997: These were crazy, mixed up years. I broke up with my first love, quit college and moved a lot. I spent part of the time living in Springdale, Arkansas working in my mother’s flower shop, and part of the time I was living in St. Petersburg, Florida feeling sorry for myself and falling in love again.

1998-2001: Sam and I got married at the end of 1997 and we moved in early 1998 to Council Bluffs, Iowa to serve in a ministry position in a church. If you’re familiar with this area, you know that C.B. is really just a suburb of Omaha, Nebraska, which seems to be spreading out almost as far as Lincoln, Nebraska. Man I loved it there. Leaving was the wrong decision – its just too bad we didn’t see that before we left.

2001-2003: We lived in Florence, Kentucky where Sam worked for a missionary organization to Buenos Aries, Argentina. He traveled back and forth to Argentina several times while we were there (he even took me with him once!); as well as all over the U.S. Florence is just a hop, skip, and a jump across the river from Cincinnati, where we spent many happy Saturdays wide-eyed and wondering the aisles at Jungle Jim’s. That’s probably the best international supermarket I’ve ever been in….EVER!

2003-2008: We lived in the extreme northeast corner of Maine – Limestone, Maine, to be exact. A town with a stated population of 2,300 people, however they haven’t taken a census of the town since the 90’s, so I can assure you there really aren’t 2,300 people living there now – there might be 2,300 moose and bear living there though!

2008-present: Hello, peach fuzz! We now live in a suburb of Atlanta, Georgia. I don’t know how long we’ll be in this area because as you can see we’re “rolling stones”, but I hope that as we continue to age we’ll start to slow down a bit. I love living in the South. It’s truly God’s country.

We’ve also been very lucky to have traveled abroad. We’ve spent time in Scotland, Mexico, Central America, the Caribbean, Argentina (of course), and Canada.

So what about you? Where have you lived? Where are you living? And how long have ya been there? Is it a place you hope to die in, or is it a place you can’t wait to escape?

3 thoughts on “Where are you?

  1. Sharon

    Hey this is Sharon from reverb – I love that you seconded my wish but I can’t take credit for it. Read it somewhere.Love your blog but I find it hard to read against the brown background.

  2. Snobound

    Yeah, the brown background is tough. I’m going to be changing it this week – even I find it difficult, and I wrote this stuff. Thanks for your comments!

Leave a Reply

