One of the worst inventions in the world

It’s not the bra, not pantyhose or girdles, or slot machines, or roller coasters, or Chucky Cheese, or the Pinto, or any of a thousand brainless ideas, but it’s the mirror.

Why? My answer is simple – the mirror takes our focus off of God and puts it on ourselves and how we look and compare to others.

I know people (both men and women) who’ve stood in front of the mirror for hours, primping and picking, dotting and tweezing, painting and scrubbing, admiring and scrutinizing. When we stare at ourselves in the mirror our minds begin to see all our flaws and we begin to compare ourselves to others.

I’m too fat.
I’m too skinny.
Man I look good compared to so-and-so.
I’m not tall enough.
I wish I weren’t so tall.
I have too much body hair.
I wish I had more body hair.
I wonder if my muscles big enough?
Does my hair look right?
I think I need to put on some more make-up.
Man, I need a make-over.
I need to wax my lip.
I need a new goatee.
I wish I looked as good as so-and-so does.
Gosh I wish my butt had less cellulite.
Thank goodness I work out, at least my thighs don’t rub together like so-and-so’s do.
I wonder if my spouse still finds me attractive?
I sure wish I looked like X-model does on the cover of that magazine.
Should I color my hair?
Gosh I wish I could lose more weight.
Blah, blah, blah, blah, blah…….

On it goes. The list is nearly endless. The point is, every time we stand in front of a mirror we forget that we’re God’s unique and special creation. Created in his image to his exact specifications. He made us the way we are for a reason. Yes, some of us are heavier than others, some of us are brunettes instead of blonds or redheads or bald, some are tall and others are short, some people have hairy upper lips and others have hair in their ears and on their backs, but none of that matters to God, because he’s proud of his creation.

“Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvelous – and how well I know it.” Psalm 139:14

When we spend time focusing on all the areas that we feel are wrong with our bodies, we are essentially telling God, “hey God, you made a mistake here…my body isn’t nearly as perfect as so-and-so’s.” When the truth of the matter is – God made you perfect just the way you are. So rejoice when you look in the mirror. Don’t scrutinize, but marvel at how awesome a craftsman God is. He knows every hair on your head, whether it’s out of place or not. He knows every fleck of color in your eyes, whether they’re covered up with blue contacts or not. He knows every wrinkle, dimple, divot, lump, bump, and bag, and he loves every one of them.

Leave a Reply

