Getting sucked in

I’ve succumbed to the power of curiosity!

A couple of years ago I received a request to join one of those “connection” websites – you know the ones I mean…ones where you set up a profile that asks you for all kinds of personal and embarrassing information like weight and hobbies and they even encourage you to post some photos of yourself. Okay, weight wasn’t in there, but it might as well have been. And then you are supposed to use this website to stay in touch with old friends and family, and maybe even meet a few new people too. At the time I quickly set up a basic profile so I could see what crazy thing my friend had done, and then promptly forgot all about it.

Now, two years later, I’m cleaning out some of my bookmarked pages on my computer and I came across this website address. I clicked on it because I didn’t remember ever doing much with it, so I thought I’d take a spin around the block – you know, for fun. Well, five hours and two pots of coffee later I’m completely hooked! Darn it…I hate it when that happens!

I feel like Meg Ryan’s character in You’ve Got Mail. My life seems to revolve around the Internet now. Every time I walk by my laptop I skim the touch pad so I can see if I’ve had any recent activity on my profile; and as I await anxiously for my email to pop up my heart stands still – hoping to see the magic name appear in my Inbox. And I hate to admit it, but I’m slightly disappointed when it’s not there.

When we were pastoring in Iowa I was hooked on a pastor’s wives website. I was always on there – surfing, browsing, posting, reading, crying, laughing, IM-ing; my computer sounded more like a popcorn popper! Sam felt like he was living with an addict – a message board addict that is. I hate to admit it, but it took me several weeks to detox from that last episode.

P.T. Barnum said that “A sucker’s born every minute.” Guess someone’s got my number for sure!

Leave a comment

Filed under RANDOM THOUGHTS

Leave a Reply

