Homeward bound

As Confucius says, “All good things must come to an end.”

I’m headed home today – in just a few hours, in fact. This trip has been very productive for me. I didn’t get a chance to update this blog as much as I’d hoped to, but I would have to have been at the house in order to do that, and it seems we’ve been on the go the entire time I was here.

My Dad is doing great. He got a good report from his doctor yesterday, his recovery seems to be right on schedule. He’s set to begin physical therapy, which will last for the next four weeks. After that, it’ll be a day-by-day thing.

My Gram is about the same as she was in April. She has many good days and many bad days, and both are extremes. I do not know how much longer she’s be able to recognize me since I’m not here every day, but I’m ever so grateful for the time I’ve had with her. She’s quite a lady, and while I’m very saddened at how Alzheimer’s has ravaged her mind, I’m thankful for her good days. Only time will tell what the future holds for her, and my prayer is that the Lord will work in her life, and His will will be done in regard to the amount of time she’s got left with us, both mentally and physically.

My Granddaddy is much improved. When I left here in April I was sure he would die before I got back. Within a month or so he started making improvements, and he was released from the rehab center to come home. About two weeks before I was set to arrive here, my parents told me to be prepared to come down early – he seemed to be knocking on death’s doorstep again. When I arrive here twelve days ago, I prayed that death would come swiftly to him – he looked just awful. But, every day since I’ve been here I’ve seen improvements. On Saturday he was significantly better. It was like a fog had lifted from his mind. He looked better, his speech was 100% better, he was following and contributing to conversations, he was playing games with us and laughing. And every day since Saturday he’s been even better. I had the opportunity to sit with him for several hours last night, and he beat me at all three games of Skip-bo! It was great!

Before I left last night, I told him that I’d be back before the end of the year and that I expected to see him again. Just like Gram, I will continue to pray for the Lord’s will to be done in his life. He’s got an amazing testimony of how the Lord works in a person’s life, he’s an amazing prayer warrior for this family, and he’s just a splendidly gentle man whom I love a whole lot. My life has been blessed by the time I’ve spent with him these past two weeks, and I’m ever so grateful for that.

If I’d have to rate this trip on a scale of 1 – 10, with 10 being the highest, I’d have to say it was an 8. I’m very happy I came down. I feel like I was able to be helpful to my parents and grandparents, and I had a wonderful time with my brother and my nephew too. And while I’m ready to get home, I feel I’ve been blessed by the Lord for being here. Spending time with family is aways a good thing for me, especially since we’re never guaranteed another opportunity.

One thought on “Homeward bound

  1. dad

    I have so much enjoyed the time you have been here to help out this trip.I know that it is never eaisy when it comes to this family and all our problems.You are a wonderful daughter and so careing and I love reading your blog you have so much talent. The love of christ as touched you with so many good things and I thank him daily for two wonderful childern.Your mother and I will make it through this time in our lives as long as we keep praying and trusting the Lord!! I love you and am so thankful your husband was so kind and let you come down, he is such a good man!!! Keep us in your prayers and we will pray for you daily and Thanks again!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

