Florida – Day 1 – A recap

I arrived in Florida yesterday – my plane was on time and my bags managed to make it as well. My ride however, well…lets just say she had a rough morning. She eventually made it to the airport to pick me up about a half hour after I landed. Not a big deal in the scheme of things.

We went straight to the hospital to see my dad, who was just waking up from a nap. He’s looking good and feeling fairly well too, considering they “roto-rooted” his spine! He’s going to be released this morning, and mom and I are in the process of getting ready to go and pick him up. We had a chance to speak to his doctor yesterday though, and he was very happy with the surgery and if my dad will start taking better care of himself, lose a few pounds, and start exercising (all of this after his initial recovery period, of course) he may not have to have this surgery again. I’m crossing my fingers, and trying to figure out a way to get him motivated to do all those things. Perhaps we should make it a little competition – gonna have to think on that one some more.

After we left the hospital, mom and I dropped in on Gram. She was taking a nap when we arrived, but we managed to get her up and we spent about two hours with her. It was wonderful – we had the same 10 minute conversation approximately a dozen times. In all seriousness though, her face (where she had the melanoma removed) is looking very good; she seemed to be in good spirits; and she was lying like a banshee, although she doesn’t realize that’s what she’s doing! We’ll be dropping in on her this morning again after we pick up dad, and we’ll get a chance to meet Melissa, the young lady we have who comes in to take care of Gram during the day.

And finally, last evening we spent a couple of hours with Grandmother and Granddaddy. Wow, talk about an eye opener. Granddaddy is doing better, according to mom, but he looks terrible. Honestly, I don’t know how much longer he’s going to be with us, and frankly, I believe it might be better for him to just go on home to be with the Lord. He’s in a lot of pain, and all the medication he’s on is clouding his mind. There were moments when it seemed that he was his normal self, but just as quickly as his mind cleared it clouded up again and he was back in the fog. It was very sad for me to see him that way because he’s always been a very proud and independent guy and now he’s completely dependent on mom and Grandmother. It breaks my heart, but I know the Lord must have a reason for keeping him here – maybe it’s to reach Kelly or one of my cousins, or maybe it’s for Maria, the nurse who comes in every day to care for him.

All in all, yesterday was much of what I expected it to be, and I’m sure that today will be busy and exhausting. So, we’re off….miles to go before we sleep! Hope y’all have a good day too.

One thought on “Florida – Day 1 – A recap

Leave a Reply

