Worries, frets, and tears — UPDATE

My dad is in the middle of having back surgery at this very moment, and my stomach has been churning since last night.

I spoke to my mom on the phone last night, which is rare for us since she’s usually over at my grandparent’s house helping them out; and we were having such a lovely conversation that I completely forgot to chat with my dad before the conversation ended.

So for a good part of the night, I laid awake, tossing and turning, wishing I’d have remembered to talk to him – you know……………just in case.

I knew that he was going to have to be at the hospital by 5:30 this morning to be prepped for the procedure, so I though I’d wait to call until around 7:45 since the surgery was schedule for 8ish. But, despite all my planning, I still missed him. My mom informed me that they’d wheeled him back to the operating room about five minutes before I called. DRAT!!!!

Needless to say, I’ve been a basket case since that conversation. Sure, I have confidence in the surgeon’s ability, and I trust the Lord to take care of my daddy while he’s under the knife, but I feel completely helpless at 8 hours away, and I just can’t shake the nagging thoughts that keep whispering in my ear, “You should have talked to him before – you should have prayed with him – you should have told him one more time that you love him.”

The surgery is supposed to last about two hours, so hopefully I’ll hear something by 10:30, and I’ll post an update here for those of you who are interested.


UPDATE:

What a relief! It’s 11:04 a.m. and I just spoke to my Dad on the phone! The nurse was getting ready to give him some morphine so he could relax and sleep for a bit. He’s out of recovery and has been moved into a room – he sounds terrible, and said he’s feeling a lot of pain, but at least he’s out of surgery, and everything went as planned. Praise the Lord! Now I feel a little bit silly for worrying and fretting like I was. I’m sure I’ll be talking to my mom a little bit later today after she’s had a chance to talk with the doctor. By this time tomorrow I’ll be in Florida, and probably sneaking him a cheeseburger and some fries!

Leave a Reply

