School Daze!

Yep, you read it right – I said daze, as in “stunned” by all the choices that are out there for me.

I’ve spent the morning doing more research on colleges. I have been working on my bachelor’s degree for 13 years now. You’d think in all that time I would have finished it by now, but I haven’t. And, you’d think after all these years I’d have more than 30 credits….and I do…..I have 31! I know, I’m a punk!

Getting a bachelor’s degree is so important to me though.

As a college drop-out, I’ve come to realize over the past decade how difficult it is to actually be successful financially without a degree. In all honesty, it’s nearly impossible. In the past thirteen years, the best paying job I’ve ever had still paid me less than $32k a year. Sam pays more than that a year just in taxes! Because of our age difference, I realize that at some point, he’s going to want to retire (slacker!) and I’m going to have to step up to the plate and start bringing home the bacon. We’ve gotten used to a certain “lifestyle,” and I doubt social security and the interest off our investments will allow us to both be retired at the same time. Therefore, I want to be able to work at a job that can actually support us both, and still allow us to live the kind of lifestyle we’re used to.

Fortunately, I’m in a position now both financially and time-wise to go back to school as a full-time student. I had originally planned to attend Kennesaw State University, which is just down the road from our house. However, upon closer examination of the school, I was quite turned off by the actual size of the student body as well as the classroom size. I’ve always attended smaller schools – with less than 30 students per class, and lots of time for interaction with the professors. At KSU, there are over 20,000 students, with an average classroom size of about 80 – 100 students. WOW!! Not that that’s a bad thing, but it’s just not my thing. Plus, being a non-traditional student, I have a deeper level of focus than most college students.

So, in order to accommodate my needs, I’ve been researching online degree programs today. And I have to say, I’ve been impressed with all the options that are available to me. I am leaning more toward a degree in Business Marketing with an minor in Accounting, since most of my recent college course work is accounting related. I don’t want to be a CPA, but I want that option to be available to me should I change my mind.

A degree in marketing is very diverse – meaning I could work in the corporate world, the small business world, and even in education, if I so desired. Having the accounting minor also allows me to pursue the widely varied fields of finance and accounting. Really, no matter which way I go with that type of degree, I don’t think I can lose.

Choices, choices, choices. I guess that’s what life is all about. Making the right choices for me, well that’s a little bit harder!

Leave a comment

Filed under FAMILY LIFE

Leave a Reply

