What a weekend!

I just wanted to tell y’all that I had a super – fantastic – wonderfully – delightful weekend! I’ve been looking forward to this past weekend for at least a month. In fact, I’ve been so excited about it that I wasn’t able to sleep on Friday night; and I had such a great time on Saturday that I wasn’t able to sleep that night either! It was such a fun day, I laid awake for hours mulling the events of the day over, and over, and over in my mind. Savoring every blissful detail.

This gorgeous woman is my beautiful cousin, Brandi and her husband, John. I have written about her on this blog before, but as you can see, my description of her just didn’t do her justice! And not only is she beautiful on the outside, she is truly lovely on the inside as well. I do not believe I know a sweeter, more gentle woman.

She’s just a few years older than I am, and we haven’t seen each other in 12 years! 12 years….can you believe that?! I think that’s a tragedy, honestly. She is married to the kindest man (next to my own beloved husband, of course), John, and they have 3 children.

Sam and I drove up to Chattanooga on Saturday morning and we met them at our favorite restaurant – Famous Dave’s Bar-b-que. To say I was nervous may have been the understatement of the year, although I’d suspect she was a bit apprehensive as well. I mean, after 12 years, where does one begin? I wondered if we’d really have anything in common after all this time. And I’m so shy I really am not much of a conversationalist anyway. But from the moment I saw her, my mind was put at ease, and I felt we had an instant connection. Plus, she looks just like I remember her (and very much like her mother did at that age)!

All four of us seemed to hit it off right away, and we sat in the restaurant for over two hours gabbing and catching up on our family, our jobs, where we’ve lived and how we got to where we are now. It was so interesting to hear how our lives have taken parallel paths, even though we’ve been thousands of miles apart and out of touch with each other.

Our husbands are only a year apart in age, so they had loads of things in common and they chatted endlessly about their careers and sports and music and faith. It was so much fun to listen to them!

Eventually, the hostess came over and encouraged us to leave since we’d been there so long and they were beginning to get busy; so we mozied across the road to the mall and took up residence in the food court for another hour or so.

Our afternoon together flew by so fast, and before we knew it, it was past time for all of us to head back down the road. I chattered to Sam about her all the way home, and frankly, I haven’t been able to stop talking about our day together. I’m on cloud 9, to be sure. I had such high expectations going into the day, and they were truly exceeded beyond my wildest dreams, that I don’t know how long I’ll be riding on this mountaintop.

I believe we’ve forged a new bond of friendship and family; one I don’t believe we’ll allow to lapse again. I can’t wait to meet her kids – my second cousins, and I foresee many get-togethers in our future. And I’m looking forward with great anticipation to each one!

One thought on “What a weekend!

  1. Brandi

    ah, shucks…You’re too kind.John and I had a GREAT time and are looking forward to the next time we can get together!!!The two of you are very special people!!!

Leave a Reply

