Be still my piter-pattering heart!

My life is so good! I have coffee this morning! Alleluia! Alleluia! Alleluia! Ah-leeaaluuuuyaaaa!

It’s the first time in three days I’ve had coffee. No, I haven’t been sick. No, I haven’t been out of the country. And no, I haven’t even had a broken coffee maker.

Sam has simply been out of town.

I know it sounds silly, but I can’t make coffee. I can make a seven layer torte with a hand whipped mousse, I can make perfect boiled eggs, I can make bread from scratch, I can make Pots de Creme and a perfect souffle, but don’t even think of asking me to make coffee. I have tried many times, and I have failed miserably every time. It’s like I have a coffee mental block.

We are coffee snobs. We use only Starbucks beans. Yes, I know, they’re outrageously expensive. Yes, I realize we could buy a 5 pound can of Folgers or Maxwell House, or Chock-Full-O-Nuts for the same price we pay for a 1 pound bag of beans. Yes, I realize it’s just coffee. But coffee is my life blood. It’s what wakes me up in the morning. It’s what determines my mood. It’s what keeps me from having a lunchtime headache. It’s God’s gift to mornings, darn it!

Sam has the coffee making down to a science. He’s been making the coffee in our house for 11 years. He can pretty much pick out the blend by the smell. He knows the exact number of beans to grind for each of the different blends. He knows precisely how long to grind them for. He knows exactly how full to fill the water reservoir. And every morning, without fail, no matter the blend we’re having, we have perfectly delicious, eye popping, heart racing, wake ya up in the mornin‘, smooth cups of freshly ground and brewed coffee. My life is so good – and yes, you should be jealous of it!

Sam’s tried to teach me the “art” of brewing coffee many times, but I just can’t seem to get it right. It’s like making a favorite dish from childhood. You can follow the recipe to a T, use the same techniques as your mom did, even buy the same brand of ingredients. But without fail, it never tastes as good as mom made it. In my case, I don’t know how I screw it up, but my pots of coffee inevitably taste like sludge or brown water. There’s no tasty medium. It’s always undrinkable.

We’re currently drinking the new Starbucks throwback blend Pike Place Roast. This is reminiscent of the old days when Starbucks first opened. Ah the good ol‘ days! The days I traded a drug addiction for a coffee addiction.

The rich heady aroma of this blend makes my mouth water; the smooth taste drinks like a fine wine; and it has just the right kick to it. It’s not a breakfast blend and it’s not an after dinner blend. But it is the perfect blend for me right now…at least until the Anniversary Blend and Harvest Blend comes out in the fall….oh, and the Christmas Blend is spectacular too.

We usually have three or four different bags of beans around here. Often we have a mild and a medium roast; and occasionally a bold for those days that just need a little something extra. I honestly don’t know what I’d ever do if Starbucks went out of business. I might just go insane from the caffeine withdrawal since drugs are a little taboo.

Leave a comment

Filed under HOME AND GARDEN

Leave a Reply

