Company’s a-comin’ to town

I am so looking forward to this coming weekend – my sister-in-law and her family are coming up for the weekend….yeah!!!! I have the greatest sister-in-law’s around, hands down (I have two of them). They are both younger than Sam, and quite a few years older than I am, but none the less, they are both great!

Denise and her family live in Jacksonville, Florida – just five hours down the road from us. They are so much fun! They came to visit us once when we were living in Maine. They drove their RV all the way up – straight through, and they took in the sights and sounds of New York City while they were at it. I think they’re crazy for doing that, but they loved it! Denise is one of the sweetest people I know. She reminds me so much of my mother-in-law, and while that thought might send shivers down the backs of some people who knew Nan, she was always completely wonderful to me, as is my sister-in-law.

Bill, my brother-in-law, is a retired Navy man who has turned into a General Contractor. I’m especially looking forward to their coming as I hope to pick Bill’s brain on the best ways to finish our basement. I have lots of ideas, but I’m not sure if they’re all good ones, do-able ones, and economical ones. He’s the best source for information in all of those areas. I just hope I can get the basement presentable and cleaned up enough before they arrive – it is currently the dog’s domain and it smells like it (wet dog smell from the rain we had on Tuesday and Wednesday night – ugh!).

They are also bringing along their college aged daughter, Kimberly, and her fiance Matthew. Those two love birds are going to be getting married in August 2009 after they graduate from college – smart kids! Kim is studying to be a nurse. In all our years of marriage, Sam and I really haven’t ever spent much time with either of our nephews or our niece, so it will be fun to get to know the happy couple and listen to all their plans.

Fun times ahead for us! But for now, I’ve got lots of tidying up to do as well as some baking. As usual, I want to get as many things prepped ahead of time as I can, that way I can spend more time with our guests and not so much time chopping, baking, and cooking.

Leave a comment

Filed under FAMILY LIFE

Leave a Reply

