Look ma, there’s a man in my kitchen!

This past holiday proved itself to be another successful weekend for cooking. Cooking is our all time favorite hobby, and a long weekend alone is always a good excuse for us to try out new recipes that have been sitting in our files for a while.

I whipped up a Weight Watcher Butterscotch Pie, which I thought tasted more like sticky toffee pudding than butterscotch flavor – not a bad thing at all; and Sam made a Cherry-Jalapeno Chicken (recipe can be found in the June/July issue of Chili Pepper magazine) that was divine. And, he managed to make it without destroying my kitchen too, which is a huge plus.

Mostly, I love it when he cooks – he’s really great at it, but he is a messy cook (I’m not). I don’t know how he does it, but he manages to dirty up every pot, pan, utensil, and dish in the house, not to mention the counter tops and floors around him, and that’s just when he’s cooking on the grill!! It’s like a cooking explosion! You’ve heard of the Big Bang theory of evolution – well he’s the kitchen equivalent.

Despite his propensity for disaster, the boy can cook! The chicken was perfectly grilled, the sauce was sweet yet tangy, and not hot at all – more like a mildly sweet Indian curry sauce and nothing like a traditional bar-b-que sauce. It all went together perfectly in some homemade Weight Watcher naan breads which I slapped together while the chicken was cooking. The entire meal was so succulent, I could eat it all over again – I couldn’t get enough of the sauce. Honestly, I think it was the best curry chicken I’ve ever eaten; and all quite by accident since we were both expecting the sauce to be more like a traditional sweet bar-b-que sauce.

And while I’m still a little bit sad my folks didn’t make it up, all in all, it was a fantastic weekend for playing with our food!

One thought on “Look ma, there’s a man in my kitchen!

Leave a Reply

