Yep, I still hate scary movies

I have always been effected by scary movies. Ever since I saw Jaws as a kindergartner (don’t ask) I have been unable to watch scary movies without having nightmares. Knowing this, I make sure to stay far-far away from those types of movies. I just don’t enjoy them – I never have been much of an adrenaline junkie. My biggest fears are sharks and snakes, so any movie with those will do me in every time.

A month or so before we went to Cancun, I made the mistake of watching a documentary on television about five people who decided to sail around the world in a schooner. They were caught in a hurricane off the coast of North Carolina and the boat sank. All five of them managed to make it off the boat alive, although one was severely injured. However, only two people were rescued after several days in the life boat. Sharks got them. I dreamed about sharks almost every night for weeks after watching that program. We had signed up to go deep see fishing as a part of our Cancun trip, and I wanted to back out so badly. I wouldn’t get in the water even at the beach. Nope, no way, no how. To this day, I still think about that documentary and realize I never want to be off dry land!

Last night, Sam and I watched I am Legend with Will Smith. The movie, in and of itself, wasn’t that great, but it was incredibly tense and creepy.

This is a re-make of the old Omega Man movie with Charlton Heston, and Hollywood has certainly gotten better at creating and using special effects. While the monsters in the movie weren’t blood and guts scary, they were creepy and aggressive. The movie took a lot of cues from The Mummy as far as the monster traits went, which I didn’t mind too much, but that combined with the story line made for a restless night for me.

One of the good things about the movie I am Legend is the lack of bad language, nudity, and sexual innuendo. Since Will Smith’s character spends most of the movie alone there really isn’t much dialogue, and when he does speak he’s talking to a dog or inanimate objects so there aren’t many opportunities to screw it up. It was also interesting to see Hollywood question the prudence of genetic engineering; as the premise for the movie is that man has taken it too far and we’ve ended up wiping ourselves out. In many ways, I don’t disagree with that. I think medical advances are good, but when we start developing and nurturing a God-complex I think we’re on the road to self-extinction.

All in all, I’d have to give I am Legend a 7 on a scale of 1 – 10 (with 10 being the highest), purely for the tension element. Thankfully I believe this movie is a one-off, much like Signs, The Village, and The Sixth Sense; once you’ve seen it, the creepy factor is gone.

Just don’t watch it before you go to bed.

Leave a comment

Filed under MISCELLANEOUS

Leave a Reply

