A quilting we will go….a quilting we will go……hi-ho the dery-o, a quilting we will go!

I don’t know about you, but this week has just flown by for me! My big project for the week has been a quilt for my grandaughter, Lana Belle. She’s going to be turning 4 this weekend. I can’t believe how quickly she’s growing up. Grandpa sent her box of presents off on Monday so this quilt will have to wait until October when we make our annual trip to Nebraska.

I had fully intended to make Lana Belle a quilt after she was born. I made her older sister, Kaya a quilt when she was born, and to this day, Kaya calls it her “special quilt.” Occasionally, Lana will have to use Kaya’s “special quilt” while her Princess bedspread is being washed, and the other day, Lana asked her mommy “why didn’t Grammy make a special quilt for me?” Oh, bad Grammy!!! Don’t fret sweet girl, Grammy is on it, and this quilt is going to be the “most special quilt” of all time.
So far, I am pleased with the way this project is coming together. The flower blocks are so vibrant, and the pinwheels are playful and fun. The fabric is just so sweet and I know that Lana will love it. My original plan was to have all cat themed blocks, but the more searching I did for fabric the less pleased I was with the selection. So, as you can see, I’ve opted for a mixed bag of fabrics that are both bright and cheery, and the kitty cat fabric I’d originally chosen does make an appearance.

Well, I’m off to sew some more. I’ll post more photos once I’ve completed the top – hopefully that’ll happen this weekend.

One thought on “A quilting we will go….a quilting we will go……hi-ho the dery-o, a quilting we will go!

Leave a Reply

