Encouragement is so very important

One of the ways I think I fall short as a Christian is in the area of encouragement. I have good intentions. I want to be an encourager, but so many times my good intentions are left behind in the blur of my busy day.

There are many times throughout the day when the Lord will lay the name of a person on my heart, and I think to myself, “Hey, I wonder how so-and-so is doing?” or “I should send a quick card to so-and-so, wishing them well.” or “I really should call so-and-so and see if there’s anything I can do for them.” But unfortunately, that’s about as far as I get. I often times think I’ll have some time later on in the day to jot them a note, or give them a call, or bake a cake and take it to them. And before I know it, the day is gone, and I’m laying in bed about to fall asleep when they pop back into my mind; and at that point, I tell myself to not forget them in the morning……but I do.

And I really have no good excuses why I don’t take the time to write the card of encouragement, or make that quick phone call, or whip up a little cake and toss it in the oven. I have blank note cards and stamps, I have several working phones, and I have tons of quick cake and goodie recipes that don’t require special ingredients. My day isn’t really that busy. I don’t really have that much that has to be done today, that I can’t take care of those things.

Sometimes I feel that God is testing me when he puts those thoughts on my mind. He is asking me to reach out to that specific person in that specific moment, and so often I fail in being the encourager I so desperately want to be. A reality check is telling me that I am disobedient in that moment when I don’t follow his leading. Guess I need to work on my priorities a bit.

“Dear Lord, thank you for teaching me about obedience through submission. I want to be an encourager to others, and I need to learn to be more perceptive to your promptings, and willing to act on them at that moment. Help me to overcome my own schedule and learn to prioritize your will above my own. Thank you so much for sending Jesus to die in my place. It’s in his precious name I pray, amen.”

Time to grab my note cards and a pen……….

Leave a comment

Filed under MISCELLANEOUS

Leave a Reply

