"…come in thine own gentle way."

I am so thankful for the redemptive power of Jesus’ blood. If it weren’t for Him, I can only imagine where I’d be; and that’s not a pretty daydream. One of the things that I love about being a Christian is the power of the Holy Spirit in my life. He is a gentle influence in my spirit, and yet He has so much power over me. He stirs my thoughts and moves my emotions, and speaks to me in ways that I can comprehend.

I recently heard a very moving story on a radio station in England about a man who followed the Holy Spirit’s promptings, and a woman who experienced Jesus in a very real way. The story takes place in Australia and goes like this….

A police officer was patrolling his stretch of highway when a young woman sped past him. He proceeded to pull her over, and as he approached the car he noticed she was beginning to freak out – she was crying and breathing erratically and her hands were shaking. He thought to himself, “she’s on drugs.” When he reached her window, he said to her, “Do you realize you were speeding ma’am?”

“Yes, I know.” she replied, and she started crying even more.

The officer became annoyed at her excessive display of emotion, and decided he was going to give her a ticket. He was a Christian, and he could just as easily have let her go with a warning, but she was really annoying him. So he asked her to get out of her car; which just upset her even more.

“Why do I have to get out of my car? You’ve got my license, can’t you just walk back to your car and write the ticket up there? Why do I have to go back there? I’m not going to drive off!”; there were more tears, more erratic breathing. The officer was quite annoyed at this point, so he asked her again to get out of the car. He’d really had it with her.

As the officer was writing up her ticket, the Holy Spirit spoke to him…“Give her the money to pay the fine.”

He thinks to himself, “What?! Are you crazy, she’ll think I’m on drugs.”

But the Holy Spirit spoke to him again and said, “Give her the money to pay the fine, and give her this message….Jesus came to pay all her debts.”

The officer finished writing up the ticket, and he handed it to her along with her license. As the young woman was getting ready to exit his vehicle, he asked her to wait a minute, and pulled out his wallet. He handed over the money to pay the fine, and he said to her, “Ma’am, I’m a Christian, and the Holy Spirit has told me to pay your fine and to give you this message….Jesus died as payment for all your debts.”

The young woman returned to her car and the officer drove away.

A couple of years later, the same officer was patrolling the same stretch of highway, when a young woman drove past his car and recognized him. She deliberately began to speed. He saw her car speeding and he proceeded to pull the car over. As he was approaching the vehicle, the woman popped her head out of her window and said, “Hello!”

He had no idea who this woman was, but he was pretty sure she was nuts. As he got closer to the car, he noticed a baby seat in the back, with a beautiful 2 year old little girl in it. She had curly blond hair, and was smiling and waving at him.

As he looked down at the woman driving, she said, “You don’t remember me do you?”

“No. Am I supposed to?” he asked.

“I don’t know if you do this for everyone, but a couple of years ago, I was speeding down this very same highway and you pulled me over. When you gave me the ticket, you also gave me the money to pay the ticket, and you told me that Jesus loved me and he paid all my debts with his life.”

As she was speaking, he did remember her. “No, I don’t pay everyone’s fine for them. You were the only one.”

She continued, “You see, when I got back into my car I couldn’t get your words out of my head. When you pulled me over that day, I was on my way to an abortion clinic. You see that little girl in my back seat? [he nodded his head, and she continued] I was on my way to get rid of that beautiful little girl. But your words – that Jesus loved me and he paid all my debts for me were stuck in my mind. When I got to that abortion clinic, I couldn’t go in. So I drove around town for a while, and I finally ended up in the parking lot of a church. I got out and went inside. I wasn’t sure what I was looking for or why I was there, but I knew I had to find out why your words made me feel the way they did. You see officer, that day I gave my heart to Jesus. And now I have that beautiful 2 year old little girl, and my heart is full of joy. When I saw that it was you in the police car, I just had to find a way to tell you how much you meant to me that day, and thank you.”

But the story doesn’t end there! This radio speaker was at a conference in Melbourne and as he was telling this story there was a young woman in the audience who was just sobbing. He didn’t have a chance to speak to her afterward and completely forgot about it until he was speaking at another conference a few years later. After the conference was over, an older woman approached him and pulled out a picture of a little boy.

She said, “You probably don’t remember this, but a few years ago I heard you speaking at a conference in Melbourne, and you told the story of the police officer and the young woman. My daughter was with me, and she was sobbing through you whole story. You see, at the time she had just found out that she was pregnant, and she’d made up her mind to have an abortion later on that week. But your story of how Jesus can redeem our lives and cleanse us of our bad choices, touched her. She gave her life to Christ that day too, and this is my grandson.”

That police officer is making a difference in the lives of people he doesn’t even know. To this day, as that story is being told around the globe, there are young women who are being impacted by his words to that hysterical young lady. Today, more so than any other time in history, more and more young women are finding themselves pregnant and single, and completely unsure of what to do about it. Unfortunately, Planned Parenthood and many abortion clinics are all to happy to welcome them in and provide a quick solution to their “problem”. However, those clinics fail to tell these fragile young women that their choice is going to leave them scarred and hurting for the rest of their lives.

As a Christian and a woman, my heart goes out to all the young women out there who’ve made that choice, and are now living with the haunting repercussions. As a church, it is our duty to reach out to these young women. We need to be the ones that can provide a healthy and supportive alternative to abortion. We need to find ways to support clinics that can provide free medical care to these young ladies. We need to help them find jobs. We need to assist in the adoption process if that’s what she chooses. And we need to help in providing motherhood training and support if they decide to keep their precious child.

We need to follow the example of the police officer and tell these hurting, scared, confused young women that Jesus loved them enough to pay all their debts for them.

Leave a comment

Filed under CHRISTIAN LIVING

Leave a Reply

