Cooking my way into the holiday weekend….

And eating my way though it!

I’ve been a busy little bee today – cooking and baking all the yummy treats I hope to share with my family over Memorial Day weekend. For me, this Memorial Day weekend is going to hold special meaning as it is the first time my parents and grandma will be visiting me since we’ve lived in our new home! They are scheduled to arrive sometime Saturday afternoon and will hopefully be with us through breakfast on Wednesday; and I’m so thrilled to have them up for the long weekend. I’m very much looking forward to spending time with them, as well as bragging a bit about our new house.

So, in order to get the maximum amount of gabbing time, I’ve created a menu that allows me to pre-make most of the items ahead of time and freeze them until the weekend. This way I’ll be able to just pull things out of the freezer and thaw them the day before without taking any time away from my family. I thought it was a pretty darned good idea! So, what’s on the menu you ask? Here’s what I’ve got planned for them.

Sunday~
Breakfast: Cranberry-Orange Scones
Lunch: Italian grilled chicken, toasted pine nut couscous, steamed vegetable medley, garden salad, homemade yeast rolls, and graham cracker pudding
Dinner: Homemade grilled pizza and garden salad

Monday~
Breakfast: Homemade cinnamon rolls with maple frosting
Lunch: Chateaubriand, twice-baked potatoes, creamed spinach, homemade yeast rolls, and German chocolate cake with broiled coconut frosting
Dinner: (if there is any room left in our stomaches) Stromboli

Tuesday~
Breakfast: Sausage breakfast casserole
Lunch: Green chili sandwiches and homemade cream of tomato soup
Dinner: Enchiladas, refried beans, Spanish rice, and fruit empanadas

Wednesday~
Breakfast: Homemade biscuits and gravy (I want to send them on their way with full tummies)

So far, I’ve been able to make the breakfast casserole, cranberry-orange scones, biscuits, twice-baked potatoes, and two loaves of sourdough bread. Tomorrow I’ll finish up with the enchiladas, fruit empanadas, cinnamon rolls, German chocolate cake (without the frosting), creamed spinach, and pizza dough. I’ll make the graham cracker pudding and yeast roll dough on Saturday morning and store it in the fridge until Sunday. On Monday morning I’ll thaw the cake and make the broiled nut topping, rolls while Sam’s cooking the Chateaubriand.

That will leave me very little actual cooking that has to be done while my guests are here. And, what is left to be done are things that my guests will be able to help me with, if they want to. So, roll on weekend!

I hope everyone out there has a safe and fun Memorial Day weekend of their own. And don’t forget, freedom comes at a price – a price that others were (and are) willing to pay for us.

Blessings~

Leave a Reply

