Sunday’s comin’

Can you imagine what must have been going on in the lives of the disciples on a Saturday much like today? Not 24 hours before, Jesus, the promised Messiah, had been beaten, mocked, and crucified on a cross for crimes he didn’t commit. He’d been laid to rest in a tomb borrowed from a fellow believer, and the disciples were scared out of their minds thinking they’d be next if it were left up to the Jewish leaders.

What were they supposed to do now? Most of them must have been thinking they were going to have to return to their old lives, but how could they after they’d seen and done so many wonderful things while they were with Jesus? How could they be comfortable in an ordinary life? How could they go on as if nothing had ever happened? If they went on preaching and teaching as Jesus had, would people even accept them? Hold on guys….Sunday’s comin’….

For most of us, if we’ve had a conversion experience, we may even think some of these same things. I remember when I was saved how excited about the Lord I was and how I just wanted to tell everyone about him. I just couldn’t go on living my life as if nothing had happened. But I was scared of what my friends would say and think of me. I wasn’t sure where to go or what I needed to do in order to keep the feeling I had while going through my mountaintop experience. Just like the disciples, I knew that my life would never be the same and I could never settle for an ordinary life.

Thankfully, since becoming a believer I have been able to take comfort and draw strength from my valleys. Being a Christian doesn’t in any way ensure that we’re going to have a trouble free life, but one truth we can always remember is, Sunday’s comin’….hold on to Jesus because on Sunday the stone rolls away and Jesus steps out victoriously.

Leave a Reply

