My Jesus

As I’ve stated before in this blog, I love music – all kinds of music. But there are a few artists that I prefer over others because they refuse to sing “fluff”. Because of this, they often don’t have widely popularized tours or sell many records. But they sing about things that matter to them and to others. Two of my favs are Nichole Nordeman and Todd Agnew. Both are fantastic, and often address tough issues like death, sin, hell, and evangelism.

Currently, one of my all-time favorite songs is sung by Todd Agnew and has been out for a while called, My Jesus. The song talks about a realistic picture of Jesus and his ministry, and addresses the stereotypical view of what Jesus looked like. I find the song to be very provocative and one that really made me take a serious look at what my image of Jesus was. Here are the lyrics…see if you find them as stirring as I did.

My Jesus – Todd Agnew

Which Jesus do you follow?

Which Jesus do you serve?

If Ephesians says to imitate Christ, why do you look so much like the world?

Cause my Jesus bled and died.

He spent his time with thieves and liars.

He loved the poor and accosted the arrogant, so which one do you want to be?

Blessed are the poor in spirit, but do we pray to be blessed with the wealth of this land?

Blessed are they that hunger and thirst for righteousness, but do we ache for another taste of this world of shifting sand?

Cause my Jesus bled and died for my sins.

He spent his time with thieve and sluts and liars.

He loved the poor and accosted the rich, so which one do you want to be?

Who is this that you follow, the picture of the American dream?

If Jesus were here would you walk right by on the other side, or fall down and worship at his holy feet?

Pretty blue eyes, curly brown hair and a clear complexion is how you see him as he dies for your sins,

But the word says he was battered and scarred, or did you miss that part?

Sometimes I doubt we’d recognize him.

Cause my Jesus bled and died.

He spent his time with thieves and the least of these.

He loved the poor and accosted the comfortable, so which one do you want to be?

Cause my Jesus would never be accepted in my church; the blood and dirt on his feet might stain the carpet.

But he reaches for the hurting and despises the proud; and I think he’d prefer Beale Street to the stained glass crowd.

And I know he can hear me if I cry it out loud…I wanna be like my Jesus.

Not opposed to shout for American prosperity, but like my Jesus, I’m tired of living for success and popularity.

Wanna be like my Jesus, but I’m not sure what that means.

To be like you Jesus, cause you said to live like you, to love like you, but then you died for me.

Can I be like you Jesus?

I wanna be like you Jesus…I wanna be like my Jesus.

Leave a Reply

