Words of wisdom from a 17-year old

“If you have to use your eyes, it’s not faith.”

Wow! To think that kind of wisdom was found on a 17-year olds MySpace page. That 17-year old is my nephew who plays in a Christian rock/scream band in Florida. I don’t have any right to be proud of him, but I am. To think that at his young age with all the peer pressure teenagers have to deal with, he’s making a statement that reflects his faith in the Lord, and he’s making it on one of the most used and open websites on the Internet. Way to go Billy!

As I read that phrase yesterday I was suddenly struck by a wave of consciousness. I’m often guilty of having a “wait-and-see” attitude when it comes to matters of faith. Oh, I like to think of myself as a person who exercises faith, but often times I pray prayers in “faith” and then take them back from God. I want to see results, I want to control the results, and I want them to come in my time and in my ways. Fortunately, God’s ways are not my ways, and God’s timing is not my timing.

Hebrews 11 is an amazing chapter in the Bible that highlights dozens of stories of faithful people throughout Biblical history, and it’s a good reminder to me of how God blesses those who truly do live in and by faith alone.

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a huge crowd of witnesses to the life of faith, let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily hinders our progress {for me, that’s relying on my eyes for the results}. And let us run with endurance the race that God has set before us. We do this by keeping our eyes on Jesus, on whom our faith depends from start to finish.” Hebrews 12:1-2

Leave a comment

Filed under MISCELLANEOUS

Leave a Reply

