My how time flies

I can’t believe its been almost a year since my last post. So much has happened in this past year I almost don’t know where to start….

Our kids have come and gone – they lived with us for just 5 short months, and they have settled in Lincoln, NE; taking our son, Doug, with them. They are doing so well out there, and they seem to be happy, healthy, and enjoying life in the States. Our fourth granddaughter, Zoe, was born on Feb. 28, 2007 while they were living with us in Maine, and she will be celebrating her first birthday in just a couple weeks. Holy smokes, I can’t believe how fast she’s growing up and changing. We watch them grow in photos. We were able to get to Nebraska in September over Labor Day week. We made it a part of my family reunion, which happened to be the first one I’ve attended in about 13 years.

I had a great time at the family reunion, which was a complete shock to me. I was so surprised to see how much my family has changed in that time. Most of my cousins now are married and have families of their own, and they all have lovely spouses. I was not expecting the warm reception that I got, considering I’ve been the “black sheep” of my family and my parting all those years ago was not a kind one. I am hoping to get back to another reunion in the next couple of years or so. I really would hate to lose contact with everyone again.

We closed Discovery Church in August 2007 as we knew we were going to be moving out of Maine in early 2008. It was a hard decision, but one that needed to be made. With Doug gone, I was leading the music, and it left all the set up and tear down to just Sam and I, and Sam was traveling every other week to the office in Georgia. It just became too much for the both of us to handle. We miss our friends, but we’ve found another great church to be a part of in Georgia.

We closed on our new home January 8, 2008 in Acworth, Georgia, and we arrived on January 13th. We are enjoying it here, and I feel I’ve found my dream home. I love our neighborhood and I’m very much enjoying the weather here. Caribou has had tons of snow this winter, and I’m so pleased that I’m not dealing with it. I will never miss wintertime! We are waiting to sell our home in Maine, and we’re praying the Lord will bring the right buyers along within the next few weeks.

Sam and I are planning our first vacation of the year in April – we’re heading back to Mexico for a relaxing time on the beaches of Cancun. We also hope to get to Puerto Rico this year as well as a few visits to family in Florida. Grammy still owes Kaya a trip to Disney, so we’re looking at that for Christmastime. We’ve come through a busy year and we’re looking forward to another one in 2008.

Leave a comment

Filed under MISCELLANEOUS

Leave a Reply

