Company’s coming….

The kids will be here in just a few short days, and we’re ready for them. The closer it gets, the more nervous I’m getting. I really want everything to go as smoothly as possible and I want them to be safe. I’ll be so good to see the girls as well. I haven’t seen them, and have barely talked to them since June. They are the joy of my life, and I can’t wait to get to know them a whole lot better. I want to be the best Grammy in the world.

I remember when I was a little girl, how much I thought of my Gram. She was my hero. She has always been a very petite little woman, with a feisty attitude, a sharp mind, and a determination that just didn’t quit. She was always a hard worker. I can remember when we lived with her and my Grampy when I was about 5, she was still a County Health Nurse, and she’d go into the office every day and still have the energy to come home and play with my brother and I, or bake us cookies, or teach us how to build a proper fort. She was, and still is awesome. It’s very difficult for me to watch her getting old and forgetful.

Life can be very strange sometimes. I never thought I’d be a Grammy, and yet here I am with three, soon to be four little bundles of joy. Before the girls came along I never really liked kids, and yet here I am being blessed every day by these wonderful little girls. I never thought I’d find satisfaction in having a family of my own, and yet you couldn’t convince me to change a thing about my life.

Leave a Reply

