Where did Christmas go?

Holy cow, I can’t believe that Christmas is already over! Before we know it, we’ll be celebrating the 4th of July in our bermuda shorts and bug spray. I’m amazed that as I get older, time seems to fly by even faster. I remember when I was a kid wishing I’d hurry up and grow up, and now that I’m all grown up, I wish life would slow down just a bit so I could enjoy all that I have. Every year, the holidays seem to come around just a little bit faster, and I don’t feel like I have the time to savor the goodness and bounty of the Lord.

Things are ever so busy in our house right now, and all the activity is totally unrelated to all the Christmas hub-bub. Our children and grandchildren are moving over from Scotland on January 19th. We are very excited about it, and a little bit scared. There is so much to do, and we aren’t used to having a house full of little children, not to mention a new baby, which is due to arrive on February 20th, or around about there. The Lord has truly blessed us, and now is our chance to give some of those blessings back to our family.

I have been shopping online for most of the things we need to get in order to be prepared for their arrival, and I’m still amazed at how easy it is to get anything your heart could ever desire, and have it delivered right to my door. I’m also amazed at how darned much everything seems to cost! Our emergency fund has taken a serious nose-dive, and it’ll take us a good 4-6 months just to replace all that we’ve had to spend. Between furniture and plane tickets, I think I’m even beginning to sweat! But I’d rather spend the money and have my grandaughters here, than save all the money in the world and not have a meaningful relationship with them. In the end, it’ll all be worth it.

Christmas is a wonderful time of year. A time for us to reflect on our blessings and remember the sacrifice that was made for our salvation. Christmas is the time when we celebrate our Saviour’s birth, and look forward in anticipation to the joyous salvation that is to come at Easter.

Blessings to us all!

Leave a comment

Filed under MISCELLANEOUS

Leave a Reply

