Another year older

I’m told that we become wiser as we get older. I sure do hope that’s true. I’m looking forward to wisdom…..some day. Yesterday was my 31st birthday, ugh. I really don’t like the sound of that. But my husband sent me flowers and bought me loads of wonderful presents, and my son came over and we had a nice family dinner together, and it was a very nice day. And today I don’t really feel any older than I was on Tuesday!

I have to say though that I had a very hard time turning 30. I know that a lot of people don’t understand that, they think that 40 is hard. I think they just say that because they either haven’t reached 30, or they are so far past it they wish they were only 30. But for me, 30 was horrible.

I don’t really understand why it was so hard either. I had a wonderful day, my beloved husband treated me like a queen with gorgeous flowers, a limo ride to a romantic candlelit dinner, a beautiful kitchen island waiting at home for me along with loads of birthday cards and money. All in all, the day was grand, but for some reason, turning 30 just made me feel…..old…..maybe I’m going mental already. I guess in my mind when you’re under 30, you can still act like a kid. You don’t have to make all the hard decisions or know what you’re gonna be when you grow up, and you’re still young enough to act like “Friends.” But, once you turn 30, you’re now the adult. People expect you to be able to make a decision and have your act together. People somehow change their perception and opinion of you when they know you’re 30 something. I don’t like it, but I know I’m guilty of it too.

Ah well, life has gone on and I seem to have been able to cope well enough. I’ve lived to see another year at least, and now I’m just hoping to be blessed with 40 more.

Leave a Reply

