We fishin’ now

Last weekend, I sprung and finally bought myself a fishin’ license. My beloved has had one for weeks now and has been after me to get mine so we could go out. I had been dragging my feet on this since I’d had one a couple of years ago and we only went fishin’ once or twice, so I thought it was a waste of money. I didn’t buy one last year either. But this year I caved, and I have to say that since gettin’ it, we’ve both been jonesin’ every day now to break out the tackle box and rods and crack open the worms in the fridge. So, tonight we finally got to scratch that itch. For the first time this season, my beloved husband and I found a fishin’ hole and we tossed out our lines.

Now we’re used to fishin for REAL fish; crappie, bluegill and bass, but in Maine, most ponds and lakes have tons of “Brookies” or brook trout, a few perch, sometimes some salmon (only small ones), rarely any bass and almost never any catfish. So for us, this is a whole new ballgame. But we baited our hooks, well, my beloved baited mine since I’m too chicken to gore the worm onto the hook. I hate the wriggling….anyway, we baited our hooks, tossed out, sat back and waited.

Of course, I was able to get some bites right away, and the fish that were on my hook were about as big as a minnow….literally. Talk about a real letdown. My husband on the other hand started reelin’ ’em in. He was catchin’ some good sized fish, mind you, there were no record breakers there, but still worthy of being pulled from the water! Now you have to understand my position here, he’s usually the one with the crummy luck when we go out. I don’t want to say that the reason is because he’s too busy baitin’ my hook all the time to get any time in the water, but what can I say…..I’m a natural! So, this not catchin’ fish is a totally foreign concept for me. So I’d say that to every one fish I caught, he’d have five already in and out. Talk about role reversal! Thank goodness we’re catch-and-release kind of people or else I’d never hear the end of this one.

All in all, it was a wonderful evening. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening. The scenery was glorious, the weather was ideal, the water was calm, and the bugs didn’t swarm us too badly. Maybe we can get back to that spot before the weekend is over and I can show him how a real fisherwoman does it!

Leave a Reply

